Vicki's Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
The batter called out in this recipe is too dry, I had to add milk. I didn't have onion, so I used green onions instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Two eggs wasn't enough moisture to hold mixture together, I had to had milk and then they turned out very dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
My husband and I really enjoyed these. My kids did not which surprised me since they were extremely sweet. If I were making them again, I would decrease the sugar slightly and add a little extra onion. Overall, I would highly recommend them. They are one of the better hush puppies I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
MY HUSBAND LOVED IT!! I would use 1/4 C sugar instead of 1/2 c though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
OK This was my first attempt making Hush puppies I thought these were good!! Not as fluffy and moist as I would have liked But im almost positive it wasnt the recipe it was something I did lol. These have great flavor! Next time i want to try adding some old bay seasoning!I will try this recipe again to see if they turn out a little fluffier and not so dense.Over all a good recipe and very very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
One of the best recipes I've gotten from this site, honestly. It was 100% perfection. These hush puppies were the best I've ever had! Even my hubby said they were better than the ones at Red Lobster (and he LOVES that place)! I did, however, make two small changes. I used onion powder instead of onions (don't like onions) and I only used a 1/4 cup of sugar instead of 1/2 (I don't like my hush puppies THAT sweet, plus it makes it a smidgen healthier). Anyway, love love love these! Already planning to make them again next week. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Thinking that cutting down to 1/4 cup of sugar would be even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I am rating this recipe as written. The mixture was so dry that the mixing bowl was just filled with a mess of crumbles. Yes, I then added milk to create "a different recipe", but THIS is recipe did not work for me and will not be going into my recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States