Vicki's Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2001
The Best! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2001
These were absolutely awesome. We just returned from vacation in Florida and sampled quite a few hush puppies and these won hands down!! they were easy and fun to make. I didn't have self rising flour so, I used all purpose and it worked just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
These were better than any hush puppies in the restaurants around! There were very quick and easy to make. I used an icecream scoop half filled with batter to drop them in the fryer. The icecream scoop really made them perfectly round. I would recommend this recipe to everyone who loves hush puppies! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
I like hushpuppies with a sweet taste, and found these to be perfect. My husband really enjoyed them as well. Don't mix up the batter until right before you are ready to cook them - it rose on me while I was frying the fish. The flavor was good but they were kind of "cakey" since I let the batter rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Killer recipe. So simple but REALLY GOOD. I make them at least once a week. Sometime i will make fried corn and finely chopped bell peppers to the mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAJIX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
I usually dont' like hush puppies but these were GREAT!!!. They were crispy on the outside and moist on the inside with a little touch of sweetness. We thought there wasn't enough liquid with one egg but if you keep stirring its the perfect amount. Thanks for sharing this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
We had these for dinner last night with fried fish and I served them with honey butter. I had never made hush puppies before and wasn't sure how they would turn out, follow the recipe exactly these hush puppies are GREAT, everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
MMMMMM!!! I have been looking for a recipe like this ever since having fabulous hush puppies in a Florida restaurant. Much better than the typical "corn bread" tasting hush puppies! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
This recipe made the BEST hush puppies ! This is the only recipe for hush puppies I will ever use. A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
WOW - these were AMAZING!! My husband just caught some fresh fish and wanted some hush puppies. I am so glad I picked this recipe. It was excellent! Although, I must have made them larger than the recipe intended, because it didn't make as many as it said. They turned out perfect anyway. I had to make a second batch....my kids loved them too. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States