Vicki's Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
These were better than any hush puppies in the restaurants around! There were very quick and easy to make. I used an icecream scoop half filled with batter to drop them in the fryer. The icecream scoop really made them perfectly round. I would recommend this recipe to everyone who loves hush puppies! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2001
These were absolutely awesome. We just returned from vacation in Florida and sampled quite a few hush puppies and these won hands down!! they were easy and fun to make. I didn't have self rising flour so, I used all purpose and it worked just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
WOW - these were AMAZING!! My husband just caught some fresh fish and wanted some hush puppies. I am so glad I picked this recipe. It was excellent! Although, I must have made them larger than the recipe intended, because it didn't make as many as it said. They turned out perfect anyway. I had to make a second batch....my kids loved them too. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
MMMMMM!!! I have been looking for a recipe like this ever since having fabulous hush puppies in a Florida restaurant. Much better than the typical "corn bread" tasting hush puppies! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2001
The Best! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
I like hushpuppies with a sweet taste, and found these to be perfect. My husband really enjoyed them as well. Don't mix up the batter until right before you are ready to cook them - it rose on me while I was frying the fish. The flavor was good but they were kind of "cakey" since I let the batter rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Killer recipe. So simple but REALLY GOOD. I make them at least once a week. Sometime i will make fried corn and finely chopped bell peppers to the mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAJIX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
I usually dont' like hush puppies but these were GREAT!!!. They were crispy on the outside and moist on the inside with a little touch of sweetness. We thought there wasn't enough liquid with one egg but if you keep stirring its the perfect amount. Thanks for sharing this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
We had these for dinner last night with fried fish and I served them with honey butter. I had never made hush puppies before and wasn't sure how they would turn out, follow the recipe exactly these hush puppies are GREAT, everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
This recipe made the BEST hush puppies ! This is the only recipe for hush puppies I will ever use. A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States