Vicki's Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Had a fish fry tonight. Followed recipe exactly. Everyone loved the hush puppies. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
We added a little garlic and parsley and they were awesome. Better than any place selling fish and hush puppies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
By far the best Hush Puppies I've ever had. I made them gluten free by subbing the flour for chick pea flour and 1 tbsp of baking powder (to make it self rising).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
great recipe. easy and spot on directions. i did add 2 tbs milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Freaking delicious! Added a tiny bit of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BaByBaMz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I made these for a fish fry I had a few weeks ago, my family loved them. The kids said they were better than the well known seafood chain in our area. I did add several dashes of Tabasco which helped balance out the sweetness. Absolutely loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anaa31

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellaire, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I,m a hushpuppie fanatic ,these where way too dry and sweet.I prefer the southern recipes over the sweet ( I assume ) northern sweet recipe. But gave it a try cause I like to experiment. With that being said, I had to thin out this recipe with milk in order to make it the proper consistency. It would have been nothing more than a fried bisquit otherwise. Second, even with that, it was too dry after frying and too sweet for my tastes. Suggest eliminating the sugar, add onion salt 1/2 tsp. and 1 tsp salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lharv01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Although many reviewers feel that these are too sweet, I disagree. I like the sweetness but still think that they need "more.' Canned corn, Old Bay, garlic powder, pepper, salt, jalapeños, etc. Also,per other reviews, I added a couple of tablespoons of milk and let the mixture sit for a couple of minutes to thicken. With these changes, I think that the hush puppies are excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Wow!!! Mind bendingly fantastic. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
After making these tonight, I'm saving the recipe. I've never made hush puppies a little sweet before - but these were so good! My husband said I should use this one as my go-to recipe from now on. Thanks, Vicki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States