Vicki's Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Recipe MUST be missing a liquid ingredient! Since I was trying it out, I halved the recipe and added 1/4 c. milk. The result was a decent flavor but very dry puppy. The family ate them so overall, OK but I will continue to look for a more moist puppy recipe. Perhaps buttermilk & more than 1/4 c. of it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
My husband loves hushpuppies, but every time I've tried to make them they've been terrible...until tonight. I cut the recipe in half and followed it almost as written; I didn't have self-rising flour, so I added 1/2 a teaspoon of baking soda to AP flour and added some spices. The batter was too dry, so I added a little bit of buttermilk. It took me a little practice...the first ones I made got way too brown before the insides had cooked, so I reduced the temperature of the oil a little and made the spoonfuls smaller...and PERFECTION! My husband was in hog-heaven and even though I've never been a huge hushpuppy fan, I have to admit these were really good. As other reviewers have said, these are rather sweet, so add your sugar accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBeeN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
If you do the recipe exactly as it tells you, with the cornmeal...it's not as good as it could be. The first time I made this recipe, I didn't have cornmeal, so I used instant corn masa flour. When I used instant corn masa flour, the hush puppies were amazing and I had a couple family members try them and they said that they were the best hush puppies that they had ever had. They were more floury and sweet. The last time I did them, I used cornmeal. I was extremely disappointed. These hush puppies were pretty average restaurant type ones (I hated them), you couldn't taste the onion because the cornmeal was overpowering, they weren't soft or floury. If you change the recipe, it'd be a five for me, but since the recipe calls for cornmeal, it honestly ruins the hush puppies as well as this review. My advice is to switch out the cornmeal for corn masa flour if you like sweeter hush puppies where you can taste the onions and they aren't so dry. Also, when I cooked the hush puppies the first time (with corn masa flour) they were easy to fry, not too sticky or hard to handle. The cornmeal ones were incredibly difficult to fry because they were a sticky mess. I see reviews over and over on it being too sweet, I live in the South everything needs to be sweet from our tea to our hush puppies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
GREAT! I had to add some Buttermilk and next time I will only do 1/2 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I have made these a couple of times now for neighborhood functions, and they are amazing! I added about 1/2 t. of salt, and used a medium pampered chef scooper to drop them into the oil, making them just a bit bigger than the original recipe. They have gotten rave reviews both times I have made them, and they will remain in my recipe box for good. Be careful when frying them. Even at a larger size they were cooked all the way through just as they turned golden brown which only takes a few seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
It needed an extra egg. Plus some seasoning. Try adding 1 tsp of salt, garlic powder and black pepper in addition to the extra egg and it would be 4.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Young Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
These were way too sweet with a half cup of sugar. I would try them again, but next time cut way back on the sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. They were much too sweet, and corn has a natural sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
have to start with this review with a HUGE thank you! I was grocery shopping Sunday morning and spur of the moment my teenagers wanted fried fish & hush puppies for lunch. My daughter had her wisdom teeth pulled a few days earlier and was craving real food. I had everything I needed except the mix for hush puppies. When I've made them before it was always one of those "just add milk" mixes. The store was out of mixes and also the bags of frozen ones. So I'm standing in the aisle searching Google for an easy home made recipe and yours was the 1st that sounded down home good. I grabbed the ingredients, went home and followed your recipe to the letter and oh oh oh....I'll never make hush puppies any other way again! It was so easy and we devoured them! Now it's Monday night and my son wants some more to eat while watching a movie. This deserves 10 stars! THANK YOU!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
these were really good, but like others I had to had some liquid to the mix. I added just a "tad" of buttermilk and a "tad" of whole milk; that seemed to help a lot. Then, I used my Pampered Chef scoop so they were uniform in size. I wish I would have had this recipe back when my daughter was small - she loved "hush 'em up pups" (as she called them!). I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States