Vicki's Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I just got a deep fryer and haven't eaten theses in years. This was so good. I did add a 3rd egg and used corn bread mix in place of the corn meal since I didn't have cornmeal. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Easy & delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Libby
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
so good! We added a little bit of cream corn to give them a little moisture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I love these. There were great, almost like Captain D's. I did leave out the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Brothers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This were light and tasty on the inside and lightly crispy on the outside. I used more baking powder and salt to make up for not having self-rising ingredients (looked up measurements). I grated the onion and the flavor permeated the hush puppy. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
The best Hush Puppy recipe I've ever made!!! I grated a Vidalia onion & let it sit a little while to get a good onion juice going. I halved the sugar since I like my cornbread equally sweet/savory & I added 1T. Cajun Seasoning + 1-pkg. Green Onion, chopped. Fried PERFECT with a cookie scooper to make balls and my boys LOVED them! No Milk Needed here, that's a 1st for me! You HAV E to try these ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This was the first hushpuppy recipe I've tried and there is no reason to look for another. They turned out perfect! I grated my onion and it added just the right amount of liquid to keep the batter from being too dry. I also added a tsp or so of garlic powder for a little extra flavor. These disappeared quickly at our family fish fry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsValentine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Halved the recipe except the onion because it was only me & my husband.Made 10 good size hush puppies & they were wonderful :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suth3rng1rl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chickamauga, Georgia, USA
Living In: Wappapello, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Way too much sugar. I'd recommend leaving the sugar out entirely or cutting it back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Tokumei

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Perfect though everyone in the house was in agreement. Nix the sugar lol. Never made hush puppies before so this was a perfect starter recipe. They browned beautifully. 5 Stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States