Vicki's Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I screwed this dish up royally! The oil was too hot, the puppies broke when turned. I will leave this dish up to the seafood houses. I'm sure they would have been fine if I had a baby fryer or something other then my cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Awesome! I am 'afraid' of onions so the first time I made these I didn't add all the onions it calls for. Not too bad, but they are FANTASTIC with the full onion strength.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcarling

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This was very easy and very tasty! As some have said, I would cut back the sugar a little. They were gone in seconds at the last fish fry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
So delicious!! I grated the onion and added a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
UPDATE: We cut the sugar and onion quantity a little and sliced the onions very thin. This was a huge difference - still sweet, but not overwhelming. Next time - - we'll add minced jalapeno's! Super yummy and easy recipe! I couldn't find "self-rising cornmeal" so just used 1 cup cornmeal and added 1.5 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt to make it self-rising. Next time, I'll cut the onions much smaller - minced, probably. We may try to cut back on the sugar just a tad and add miced jalepenos to spice it up a bit. Excellent, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollypendleton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I have looked everywhere for a perfect hush puppy recipe and this is it! I fixed these hush puppies and my family even got up and ate these for breakfast! They are absolutely wonderful! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
These were delicious. I will be making these often as my whole family enjoyed them. I followed the recipe but added diced jalepenos and add a little jalepeno juice to the batter to add moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This was an easy recipe; however, it is missing an ingredient. You must add some liquid (milk is the usual addition). 2 eggs does not provide enough liquid for 2 1/2 cups of dry ingreds. I would give this a 5 if the recipe were correct.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
These were far to sweet of a hush puppy for my taste, almost like a dessert or something. I was worried about the sugar and now I wished I would have cut back. They have a great texture though and without all the sugar, these would be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
These were the best hush puppies. I'll be making many more of these. also they were very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 414) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States