Vicki's Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Nese
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Oh Vickie, thank you for this incredible recipe! I always pick my recipes based on ratings and yours had so many good ones that I knew it would be the right one. It's simple, uses ingredients that most people have one hand, and it's GOOD! After reading other reviews, I knew I wanted sweet hush puppies, so I used a whole cup of sugar and added a little bit of milk to loosen up the batter. I used an extra large star tip and pipped the batter into the hot oil. Next time I'll add more things like green onions, celery, or red pepper flakes. Also, I'll probably cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup. Thank you again, Vicki and to everyone who rated and reviewed this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Expecting more, didn't really care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
These were good! Added a diced jalapeño for a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael<3Sarah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
We loved these! Easy and awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Very good. Did a half recipe for my husband and they turned out great. Mixed the batter with my hands. Just added a bit of salt and pepper to taste, everything else was the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Follett, Texas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Very good !! Used this recipe for first time to make them.. They came out Awesome !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Meklenschek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I cut the recipe in half. Good, but a little dry. Will add milk the next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I halfed the recipe, added a few shakes of Tony's Creole Seasoning and about a 1/2 tsp of fresh minced garlic. They were yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I'd never made hush puppies before and these were delicious! They were a big hit at our fish-fry. I did add a touch of milk to the batter to bring it together and it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texican

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angleton, Texas, USA
Living In: Manvel, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States