Vickie's Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
really good! used budweiser this time and i'm anxious to use a darker, possibly honey wheat beer! but great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nellie Fiorenzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herrin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Awesome! I had no self-rising flour, so I used one of the substitutions one of the other reviewers suggested and it was sooo good! My husband and kids love it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
If I could give 10 stars I would! This is the best beer bread. It taste just as good as the "tastefully simple" one. AND costs less. A win win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Who would have thought so few ingredients would make such a great bread! People kept asking how to make this and thought it came out of bread machine. The butter melted on top made a nice crust and all I did was increase the sugar to 6 Tbsp. I can't wait to make this again and play with some herbs and spices added to the batter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This was wonderful. I made it for a party and had to print off 4 copies for friends. I made it exactly as specified except I didn't use self rise flour (I didn't have any). To make your own self rise flour: 1 1/2 tsp baking powber and 1/2 tsp salt for every cup of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I didn't have self-rising flour so used someone else's suggestion of 3 c all-purpose flour + 4 1/2 tsp baking powder + 1 tsp salt. Thought the butter was a bit much so only used about 2/3 of it but bread was a little dry compared to the Tastefully Simple recipe so would put in all of the butter next time. Would also probably put 1 Tbsp more sugar in next time, per other reviewers. Didn't allow myself enough time to get the beer to room temp so put it in a water pitcher with warm water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Fantastic! I've been using this recipe for awhile. I used one of the PC mixes. I thought there had to be a cheaper way. Actually, I like this better. I'm going to try adding some of the extras after reading more reviews. We love it with stew, soup and sometimes for dessert. Thanks so much for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington Court House, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Easy and delicious. Made it with Honey Brown Ale beer, which made it that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Very easy to make and it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
very nice ,quick and easy bread to make especially when you want something different added some garlic.Props to you thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DA DUTCHESS

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States