Vickie's Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I have followed this receipt for several years, but this I eliminated the beer and replaced it with 7up. The result is the same texture and lightness, however the bitter aftertaste from the beer is gone. Also, I did shorten the baking time to around 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
It´s an O.K bread only nothing too special about it. I did have trouble with the baking time...becuase on my 1# try it got burnt at the bottom which I had to throw it away.On my second time it came out just right but I did reduce the timing. It was ready in almost ready in 35 minutes.So be careful!! do to the fact you don´t want to threw the first one away. The flavor was also quiet dull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I would give this 4 stars..but my daughter who actually made this rated it 2 stars So, I've decided to settle on 3. This bread has alot of potential. ALONE, it's not all that great. I will be making this again Because it is crazy EASY.... Next time I will be adding garlic powder, Fresh rosemary....and any other herb I can find that will suit this bread.... It is very very DENSE. So be aware of that. Thanks for sharing. I will be trying this again... I'll let you know how it all turns out ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Cooked for 40 minutes. Very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I love this recipe! It is so simple and easy. The only 2 things I have learned to chanfe is to add more sugar and bake it for about 30-35 minutes. I use the smartware baking pans so I am not sure if that is why the baking time makes such a differnce. All I know is that I make it all the time and it's a winner over and over! PS much cheaper than the tastfuly simple beer bread for sure and its even better I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Brock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Very good and couldn't be easier to make! I skipped pouring the butter on top (although I know it would have made it even yummier!) but it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
My husband and I don't drink beer so when I had to buy beer to make the French Dip sandwiches I didn't know what to do with the extra beer. Thank you Allrecipes.com. This bread was very easy and delicious. Looking forward to experimenting with it, maybe making rolls/biscuits with it! ****3/38/10-made rolls out of the dough. Spooned it into cupcake pan (made 15). Baked 350 for 15 min. Don't forget to pour the melted butter on top before baking, otherwise looks kind of anemic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Opelika, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I love beer bread and have been working from this recipe for a while. Since I do not buy self-rising flour I use 4 T baking powder in additionn to the other dry ingredients. Recently I brought a loaf to party and my friend's mother who is a retired home ec teacher loved it so much she asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I have been making this bread for months now and it always comes out perfect and is so easy to make. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I've never had beer bread before, so with nothing to compare it to i was a little nervous. I just finished a piece, warm out of the oven and it was heavenly! Having read the reviews i upped the sugar to 1/2 cup, and used regular all purpose flour plus baking powder and salt. I used Rickards Red this time around, and already can't wait to start experimenting with this recipe. Now i just have to resist going back for more, or i'll have to bake another loaf before hubby gets home just so he gets a taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States