Vickie's Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I did not care for this, I dont know why anyone likes it really, maybe i used a bad type of beer? Very strong beer flavor, btw. Still I dont think it would have matter, to each his own I guess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
SO sorry to rate this when I changed something, but I didn't have self rising flour, so I had to add some salt and baking powder (4 1/2 tsp powder and 1 tsp salt). That being said, we really liked this! I'm not even a beer fan and it still gets a four from me. Just know before you make it that it tastes very strongly of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I made this when I had a Pampered Chef party once and the consultant thought I had used a PC mix for it. Why spend $6 for 2 loaves when you can make a loaf for pennies! It makes a great gift for people too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
So, easy to make. It is nice to know I don't have to spend hours to make a fresh loaf of bread to serve at dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
okie dokie im sorry but this just turned out dense and bitter.. i even added 2 big squeezes of honey..2 stars cause it is easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Absolutely delicious! This is my go to recipe for Beer Bread. I love the crisp crust that forms, but make sure you eat it the first day it's baked...the crisp crust won't be there the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blonde farm girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Everyone really liked this. I thought it was ok. Not QUITE as good as the tastefully simple boxed beer bread. I can't understand why though since the ingredients are the same and I used the same type of beer as was used in the T.S. bread I had before. My four-yr-old niece lOVED it. It was a little TOO beer-y. So maybe a little less beer. It's better with Cheddar and garlic. I made this a few ways. I tried with a smoked bacon-cheddar cheese and that was the best. Just mix the shredded cheese in with the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I'm not a beer drinker, but finding a lone bottle from the holidays made me think of trying this. Unbelievable Good! The beer was an apple cider ale, I can't imagine what reg. beer would be like, but this one was soooo good. I used about 6 T sugar, should've used a bit of cinnamon too! For the reviews about it being bland- they picked out the beer! Definitly will be buying beer now. I imagine Blue Moon--I think orangy-would be good. Super easy. P.S. It does rise a good bit, remember that with the butter top, mine started about 1 inch from the top of pan and just barely missed having the butter go over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Followed recipe exact except added another tablespoon of sugar! Used coors light as the beer. Tastes just like the Tastefully Simple beer bread except way cheaper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This was deeeeeelicious!! I used Shiner Smokehouse mesquite smoked lager and some extra sharp cheddar. Super easy. Minimum investment, maximum return!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States