Vickie's Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This bread came out spectacular spectacular. I used Guinness and some grated sharp cheddar along with some basil, thyme, garlic powder and white pepper. Next time I make it I'll leave it in longer (only baked for 45 minutes this time). A great loaf, especially with a slice of cheese on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Best beer bread I have had so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I'm giving the recipe 5 stars even though I think I may have chosen the wrong beer. I used the Sam Adams blackberry wheat beer and drank one as it baked. When I tried a slice just now it kind of freaked me out to taste the same thing in both solid and liquid form. I'm not sure how I feel about the way the blackberry flavor stays in the bread, an orangey beer like shock top may have been a better choice. The recipe is VERY simple, though, and I'm glad to have found something so cool/cheap/easy to make. I sifted my flour, FYI. And I used salted butter instead of margarine. Anyway I can't wait to try this with a stout or porter. I think I know what will happen to the leftover St. Patrick's Day Guinness in my apartment. I'll bet the chocolate/coffee taste of that beer will be totally different from this one. - an update. I made it with some dark, chocolate-tasting ale (Dos Perros, from a brewery in TN?) and a bit of cinnamon. It was MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyScherbatsky

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is so very delicious! I added some cheddar cheese and fresh basil pesto. The butter makes it, next time I am going to make it in muffin tins, so everybody gets a lot of buttery crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I was disappointed in this recipe. I too was looking for a recipe to replace the expensive, but yummy Tastefully Simple mix that we love and always get rave reviews about. I followed this recipe to a 'T.' and it turned out very dry and tastless, even with taking it out of the oven a tiny bit early. Might do some research on "tweeks" and try again. Others seem to like. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
So very good. I got this recipe from a friend and his recipe calls for 1 cup of sugar. I am surprised this one has so little in the recipe. I can't say I would decrease the sugar... it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Fantastic! Cheap version of Tastefully Simple beer bread. Have made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Good texture and great for a first try of making from scratch. (I LOVED Trader Joe's beer bread mix which they have discontinued). I didn't have self-rising so I added 1 1/2 tsp salt and 4 1/2 tsp baking powder. I also added 1 tsp garlic powder but it was still lacking in flavor a bit-- will add a little something else next time. Will definitely make again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I make this just as the recipe states about 50% of the time. My family loves this and whenever I make it there is never any left after dinner. Have also added a large handful of grated cheese, roasted garlic, fresh herbs or whatever else is on hand and the family loves it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by db

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Awesome!!!! Absolutely quick and easy!!:))) YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States