Vickie's Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I didn't understand why some people didn't like this very much. I've made it a million times and we always love it. It's quick and easy and a great accompaniment to soup or stew. Then the last time I made it I actually had self-rising flour on hand (usually I make my own substitute). It was no where near as good when made with self-rising flour. I highly recommend using this substitue: 3 cups all purpose flour, 4 1/2 teaspoons baking powder, 1 teaspoon salt. I know it seems like a lot of baking powder, but if you like a buttery slightly salty bread you'll love it. I also always use butter on top, not margarine as the recipe states. Finally, if you have it on hand, dark beer makes this bread even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
The difference between this beer bread and the Beer Bread I, is the margarine/butter poured on top before baking. And it makes all the difference in the world. This bread is much better and has a much bettter crumb to it. Sometimes I add Italian herbs and garlic powder. If you have problems with the margarine/butter overflowing into your oven just make a slit down the center of the bread, before pouring it on. It helps control the direction of the melted margarine/butter and helps for more even distribution too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
I really liked this recipe. After buying a box of Beer Bread from Tastefully Simple for $4.00 and making it, I knew I had to find a recipe to make this type of bread and lo and behold I found it here. This bread is so good and moist. I would love to experiment with different types of beer. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Great recipe. I also increased sugar to my preference. **A note about playing with the flour. You can substitute any flour you like, but if it is not self-rising, you'll need to use some baking powder. The beer reacts with the soda in the the baking powder to help make the bread fluffier. Try adding 4 T of baking powder to your dry ingredients if you are using a flour that isn't self rising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
Love it. Yummy for dipping in a bowl of hot homemade soup or chili. for cheese lovers try adding a 1/2 cup super sharp cheddar. thank you so much for this super easy and yummy recipe vickie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I tried this recipe because we LOVE the beer bread mix that we buy from "Tastefully Simple". This recipe wasn't quite as sweet as the bread from "Tastefully Simple", but it was still good. Next time I will add an extra tablespoon of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This recipe is amazing - who knew that you could make bread with only 3 ingredients? and in about 3 minutes?Fantastic! This recipe is extremely adaptable. I've made it twice now, each time adding grated cheese and garlic and onion powder. The second time I added a bunch of dried herbs (rosemary, basil, oregano, thyme) and it was sensational! Next time I might try adding spanish chorizo. I love the crunchy/chewy crust that it forms! I have used both self-raising and plain flour + baking powder and room-temperature and cold beer and each combination worked out fine. GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missfick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
I've tried this recipe a while back and it is very bland to me. I tried it again increasing the sugar to 1/2 cup and it was awesome! I baked mine for 50 min at 350. The kids gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Who would have thought so few ingredients would make such a great bread! People kept asking how to make this and thought it came out of bread machine. The butter melted on top made a nice crust and all I did was increase the sugar to 6 Tbsp. I can't wait to make this again and play with some herbs and spices added to the batter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
easy and tastes like "Tastefully Simple" Beer Bread in a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States