Vickie's Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Super nice bread! Hubby absolutely loved it, since I used his favorite dark beer! Increasing the sugar to 1/2 cup is a great hint. I also substituted the self-rising flour for: 3 cups all-purpose, 4 1/2 teaspoons baking powder, and 1 teaspoon salt. Instead of butter/margarine, I brushed the top of the mixture with milk, which gave the crust a beautiful texture and color. Baking in a glass 8x8 pan reduced cooking time to 30 minutes. I've started another family tradition with this Brew Bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akeakamai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
really good! used budweiser this time and i'm anxious to use a darker, possibly honey wheat beer! but great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nellie Fiorenzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herrin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Awesome! I had no self-rising flour, so I used one of the substitutions one of the other reviewers suggested and it was sooo good! My husband and kids love it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
If I could give 10 stars I would! This is the best beer bread. It taste just as good as the "tastefully simple" one. AND costs less. A win win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Who would have thought so few ingredients would make such a great bread! People kept asking how to make this and thought it came out of bread machine. The butter melted on top made a nice crust and all I did was increase the sugar to 6 Tbsp. I can't wait to make this again and play with some herbs and spices added to the batter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This was wonderful. I made it for a party and had to print off 4 copies for friends. I made it exactly as specified except I didn't use self rise flour (I didn't have any). To make your own self rise flour: 1 1/2 tsp baking powber and 1/2 tsp salt for every cup of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I didn't have self-rising flour so used someone else's suggestion of 3 c all-purpose flour + 4 1/2 tsp baking powder + 1 tsp salt. Thought the butter was a bit much so only used about 2/3 of it but bread was a little dry compared to the Tastefully Simple recipe so would put in all of the butter next time. Would also probably put 1 Tbsp more sugar in next time, per other reviewers. Didn't allow myself enough time to get the beer to room temp so put it in a water pitcher with warm water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Fantastic! I've been using this recipe for awhile. I used one of the PC mixes. I thought there had to be a cheaper way. Actually, I like this better. I'm going to try adding some of the extras after reading more reviews. We love it with stew, soup and sometimes for dessert. Thanks so much for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington Court House, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Easy and delicious. Made it with Honey Brown Ale beer, which made it that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Very easy to make and it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States