Vichyssoise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I started with this recipe, and yes, it is sort of bland. I added a tablespoon of Zatarans' liquid crab boil and a half lb. of jumbo lump crab meat at the very end. Every one agreed. . .WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sidney Landry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Have used this before straight, and it was great. Justed added a bit of shallot. And fresh garlic. This time I used some whey I had left over from making feta, substituted for most of the chicken stock. It was even better. BTW I thicken the soup using flaked mashed potato mix. Works great! Le revanche meilleur c'est manger bien!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
great and reshing summer soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Delcious, simple and elegant. I prefer it warm, but it's great no matter what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
An idea: add the cream bit by bit, to taste. Without cream, this is a pretty "hardy"-tasting soup. The cream transforms it into something lighter and more "Renaissance". I found it was up to me to decide the right balance of delicateness and solid flavor. For a 5-serving recipe using double the potatoes and some herbs (a tiny bit of thyme and bay leaf), I needed just under 1C cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Delicious. Used milk instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Made this for a ten-course meal we potlucked. Absolutely everyone loved it. Do not change a thing. Perfect as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Oh my! Simply sumptuous! I noted that some other reviewers fiddled with the recipe by using lowfat this and nonfat that or reduced fat other. DON'T! Keep this recipe exactly how it's written! Otherwise, it's just foreplay without sex! (Nice, but never as fulfilling!) Whilst I appreciate the idea of adding a scintilla of curry on top, I personally found it destructive to this wonderful dish. Definitely use fresh chives though, along with proper full fat cream and delicious rich chicken stock. I did add the lightest dusting of fresh cracked black pepper. Chilled to perfection, it was a symphony of flavour! Lovely. Absolutely Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Father Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Vichyssoise is supposed to be a mild, subtly flavored soup, and this recipe has the perfect, classic (and classy) flavor. I wanted to make the Vichyssoise I remember from my childhood but I couldn't find my mom's recipe so gave this a try. I was worried that the regular onions would change the flavor, but it was perfect! As with others I adjusted the dairy; I started with half-and-half, and finished with cream, tasting after each addition until it was how I wanted; ended up using about 1 cup in total. I also found that it needed a bit more salt and pepper after adding the dairy; just check to be sure it meets your taste. Make it the day before you expect to serve it. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I used vegetable stock in place of the chicken and just a little cream and subbed the rest with lowfat milk. It was still fantastic! I think it's better cold than hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States