Vichyssoise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I, like many of the other folks, use this recipe as a starter-- and this one is easy to experiment with . A few commented that it lacked taste. I switched the potatoes in the recipe for sweet potatoes with skin on that I had nuked in a microwave until they were soft. I also added a heaping tablespoon of minced garlic (because EVERYTHING goes better with garlic) I then substituted a can of condensed non fat milk for the cream and served it with sprinkled chives on top. I can honestly say I got rave reviews from our company as a new very healthy take on an older dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This soup is best when left to sit for 24 hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hyltonginger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I started with this recipe, and yes, it is sort of bland. I added a tablespoon of Zatarans' liquid crab boil and a half lb. of jumbo lump crab meat at the very end. Every one agreed. . .WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sidney Landry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Have used this before straight, and it was great. Justed added a bit of shallot. And fresh garlic. This time I used some whey I had left over from making feta, substituted for most of the chicken stock. It was even better. BTW I thicken the soup using flaked mashed potato mix. Works great! Le revanche meilleur c'est manger bien!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
great and reshing summer soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Delcious, simple and elegant. I prefer it warm, but it's great no matter what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
An idea: add the cream bit by bit, to taste. Without cream, this is a pretty "hardy"-tasting soup. The cream transforms it into something lighter and more "Renaissance". I found it was up to me to decide the right balance of delicateness and solid flavor. For a 5-serving recipe using double the potatoes and some herbs (a tiny bit of thyme and bay leaf), I needed just under 1C cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Delicious. Used milk instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Made this for a ten-course meal we potlucked. Absolutely everyone loved it. Do not change a thing. Perfect as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Oh my! Simply sumptuous! I noted that some other reviewers fiddled with the recipe by using lowfat this and nonfat that or reduced fat other. DON'T! Keep this recipe exactly how it's written! Otherwise, it's just foreplay without sex! (Nice, but never as fulfilling!) Whilst I appreciate the idea of adding a scintilla of curry on top, I personally found it destructive to this wonderful dish. Definitely use fresh chives though, along with proper full fat cream and delicious rich chicken stock. I did add the lightest dusting of fresh cracked black pepper. Chilled to perfection, it was a symphony of flavour! Lovely. Absolutely Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Father Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States