ViVi's Bacon and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This was great and took about 20 minutes to assemble. I did everything as written except I used a bag of bacon bits instead of regular bacon. It's much easier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
SO GOOD! Made this for dinner last night and absolutely loved it! Only thing I did differently was to add 2 tsp. sugar (the tomatoes I used were a little acidic), and I added 2 cloves of garlic, and finally garnished with a sprinkle of feta cheese. I will definitely make this recipe again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlavender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I absolutely loved this recipe! This was so yummy and will be made often in my house. I don't like bouillon cubes, personally, so I used beef broth instead of cubes and water. I also think I would've liked the bacon crispier than what I had, but I think that was completely operator error. Very good soup - thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
delish! The only change I made was to add black pepper and italian seasoning because the broth was a bit bland without it. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Realy enjoyed this soup - will be a great winter meal. Used up the leftover ham on bone from Xmas, and all the surplus tomatoes from the summer crop, and did a double batch to freeze away for the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rangiora, Canterbury, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Delicious! We really liked this and it heated up well the next day in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Big hit for a grilled cheese & soup supper! I left out the pasta because I did not want a filling soup, but could easily add it to the plentiful leftovers. I was able to use sauce that I had frozen from homegrown tomatoes which gave this soup a very fresh taste. Looking forward to lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I followed this recipe as close as I could, using organic tomato sauce, organic diced tomatoes and because I was out of beef bouillon, I used a can of Campbell's double strength beef broth and didn't add any extra water. After taste testing the soup, I did add 1 tsp. oregano, 1 tsp. basil, 1 tbsp. brown sugar, a little worchestershire sauce and a couple good shakes Frank's hot sauce. That's all personal taste but as a base, this is a cost-effective, hearty soup that made a great dinner paired with cuban midnight sandwiches. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I wanted to like this. I definitely love the idea of it. It had WAY too much beef stock. It didn't even taste like tomato soup. I am going to give tomato soup another try (I'll even add the bacon and elbow macaroni). This just wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States