Very Special Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Oh my goodness, I used to have this recipe years ago and lost it. How awesome to find it here. I could never remember the ingredients. It's a wonderful recipe. I always added bacon into my sauce. It added a nice flavor. The worchestershire sauce gives this recipe a fantastic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
WOW what a great sauce. I made enough for 3 batches of pasta. Thank you so much. It was very easy to make and the taste is perfect. I never heard of putting flour in sauce before but it worked out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
This sauce has a great flavor and is very easy to make ... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
This sauce is fantastic. I did make several modifications though. I used 1 1/2 cups of red wine, a 29 oz can of tomato sauce instead of the 2 cups of sauce and fresh tomatoes, 1 onion, and 1/2 t of cayenne pepper. I also used ground turkey (1.5 lb) instead of ground beef. I browned the turkey, onions, and garlic, added the flour and then put it into a crock pot with the remaining ingredients and cooked for 3 hours on low. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
This was very spicy and delicious. Excellent with pasta dishes!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
I made this on a Saturday night, finished at about 10pm and ate so much it made me sick on Sunday, 5 Stars ++. I cut the wine back to 1.5 cups, and replaced 1 lb of hamburger with an extra pound of mushrooms. Used half white mushrooms, half brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
It has taken me years to find this recipe. I had gotten this recipe from a neighbor it was wonderful. I had copied it down at 15 yrs old and lost it. Now I have it. HAVING BEEN RAISED IN AN ITALIAN NEIGHBORHOOD ALL I CAN SAY IS: ABSOLUTELY THE BEST SAUCE I HAVE EVER HAD. I also make large batches of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I have tried several times to make my own sauce....never liked any of them. I don't like sauces that are too tangy or too sweet...this one was soooooo perfect. I didn't change anything as I like to try recipes the way they are the first time and tweak them later. However, this recipe, in my opinion, needs no tweaking. Also, I have tried several recipes from this website but this was the first one I felt deserved reviewed! Thank you Shelley for a great red sauce recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This is our standard red sauce now. Our kids, as well as us, love this easy to do recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Read

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
AMAZING!!! As a single father of 3, this recipe could not FAIL!! loved it!! don't change a thing!! Look forward to doing you again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States