Very Special Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
Good but I didn't think the best. Would maybe make again but there are too many recipes to try!! Michele, Cambridge, Ontario
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
I made this on a Saturday night, finished at about 10pm and ate so much it made me sick on Sunday, 5 Stars ++. I cut the wine back to 1.5 cups, and replaced 1 lb of hamburger with an extra pound of mushrooms. Used half white mushrooms, half brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
This is a good sauce recipe. I would decrease the amount of wine next time to 1 1/2 cups. Otherwise pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APPASSIONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
This was very spicy and delicious. Excellent with pasta dishes!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
This sauce is fantastic. I did make several modifications though. I used 1 1/2 cups of red wine, a 29 oz can of tomato sauce instead of the 2 cups of sauce and fresh tomatoes, 1 onion, and 1/2 t of cayenne pepper. I also used ground turkey (1.5 lb) instead of ground beef. I browned the turkey, onions, and garlic, added the flour and then put it into a crock pot with the remaining ingredients and cooked for 3 hours on low. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
This sauce has a great flavor and is very easy to make ... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
My husband said it was a bit too sweet for his liking. I thought it did taste alot like restaurant style sauces though. It was very thick but in the recipe it doesn't say to drain the meat, I would because in the end after the 3hours of simmering, there was alot of grease on the top of the sauce that I had to drain off. All in all It is one of the best ones that I'v tried to make so far but still isn't that GREAT one yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERRYGILL2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
WOW what a great sauce. I made enough for 3 batches of pasta. Thank you so much. It was very easy to make and the taste is perfect. I never heard of putting flour in sauce before but it worked out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Enjoyed this recipe. It is very rich, though. Will use less cayenne pepper next time, for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
We really enjoyed this recipe, my only complaint was that it had way to much cayenne pepper, which overtook the flavor. Next time I will greatly reduce it and it will be great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States