Very Special Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
This was my first time ever making spaghetti sauce from scratch. This was easy and very delicious. I made extra to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
AMAZING!!! As a single father of 3, this recipe could not FAIL!! loved it!! don't change a thing!! Look forward to doing you again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I did a 6 person serving and it was still enough for an army. This was pretty good. I cut the wine down to 6 TBS for a 6 person serving because in my XP too much wine is not a good thing. I also only used 1/8 tsp of cayenne. Children do not like cayenne. The worcestershire was a pretty good add-in. I also would recommend making it with Roma tomatoes over any other tomatoes unless you have fresh garden tomatoes. The recipe didn't specify a certain type. Overall, I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
This is the first time I've ever made homemade spaghetti sauce and this recipe is definitely a keeper. I made it for a church gathering and within minutes, not only was it gone, but people were asking me for the recipe. I tweaked the recipe based other other reviewers' recommendations: I used only 2 T of olive oil, 1 onion, a 29 oz can of tomato sauce, only 1/2 t. of cayenne and it was perfect for my taste. I also drained the fat before I added the flour. It took 3 hours to simmer and a little chopping, but other than that, it was simple and well-worth the extra wait. "Arriverderci!" to Ragu and Prego.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
This was a good sauce. I put it in the slowcooker for 4 hours on low and even my picky eater wolfed it back without any complaint. Next time I will use another red wine tho. I tasted the wine after I made the sauce and found that I really didn't like it. I will have to find a red wine that I like and try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairns, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This is our standard red sauce now. Our kids, as well as us, love this easy to do recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Read

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I have tried several times to make my own sauce....never liked any of them. I don't like sauces that are too tangy or too sweet...this one was soooooo perfect. I didn't change anything as I like to try recipes the way they are the first time and tweak them later. However, this recipe, in my opinion, needs no tweaking. Also, I have tried several recipes from this website but this was the first one I felt deserved reviewed! Thank you Shelley for a great red sauce recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Very good! I didn't add the celery salt or salt since the tomato products I used had so much sodium content already and my hubby is on meds for high blood pressure. I didn't use the olive oil either since the meat was rather fat. I drained the fat off after browning the meat and prior to adding the other ingredients. My family enjoyed this. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
It has taken me years to find this recipe. I had gotten this recipe from a neighbor it was wonderful. I had copied it down at 15 yrs old and lost it. Now I have it. HAVING BEEN RAISED IN AN ITALIAN NEIGHBORHOOD ALL I CAN SAY IS: ABSOLUTELY THE BEST SAUCE I HAVE EVER HAD. I also make large batches of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
Good but I didn't think the best. Would maybe make again but there are too many recipes to try!! Michele, Cambridge, Ontario
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States