Very Special Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by ChickadeeD
Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Good sauce! The only thing I changed is that I didn’t put all the oil; I probably used about 2 tablespoons just to sauté the garlic. An easy way to take the peel off of a tomato is to put them in boiling water for just a bit and the skin comes right off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickadeeD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
TOTALLLY AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! I made this yesterday and put it in my cast iron dutchoven on top my stove and let it simmer for 5 1/2 hours. The longer it simmers, the better it gets! I can only imagine how GREAT it is going to taste when we have it again tonight as left overs. I used a whole head of garlic as we LOVE garlic and so do the neighbors! Took it over there and it was a HUGH hit:) The neighbors even wanted the recipe and took part of the left overs for themselves. DON"T PASS MAKING THIS ONE UP, IT"S A KEEPER!!!!! I'd give it 10 Stars if I could!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
So good! This has been added to my recipe book. Did not change a thing! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESTWINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
The only thing that prevented this from getting "5 stars" was the cayenne....I like spice, but not in spaghetti sauce. We've made it several times now without the cayenne & love it like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Very flavorful and rich sauce! I eliminated the olive oil entirely and sauteed the garlic and onion with the meat after I drained the meat. The longer it simmers, the better the flavor. Used as a spaghetti sauce and made a lasagna with remaining sauce. Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULINAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Really good bolognese. I scaled the recipe down to 6 servings, and still have tons! Next time will decrease the Oil and cayenne, other than that was really good. Will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
A bit spicy - I will add less Cheyenne next time and maybe a little more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I made this for our weekly church potluck and everyone said it was delicious. I wasn't sure about draining the meat or not, so I didn't and it wasn't oily like I feared it might be. All I changed was not adding the cayenne pepper (I didn't have any). I will do it with next time though. Great recipe...Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
This recipe was good but a little too thick for me. The taste was pretty good but I will have to play around with it to get it more to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Excellent recipe!! I added extra onions and peppers and used 2 cans of diced tomatoes with garlic and onion instead of fresh tomatoes. The flavor was excellent and I ended up with a huge amount of sauce--at least 3 meals worth for my family of 6--so I froze half. This is a definite keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States