Very Special Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
I wasn't that impressed. First of all, you MUST drain the grease! I had wondered if I should, but decided to follow the recipe exactly. It was greasy as can be!!! I had a whole layer of grease on top, thank goodness I wasn't cooking for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChickadeeD
Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Good sauce! The only thing I changed is that I didn’t put all the oil; I probably used about 2 tablespoons just to sauté the garlic. An easy way to take the peel off of a tomato is to put them in boiling water for just a bit and the skin comes right off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickadeeD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
TOTALLLY AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! I made this yesterday and put it in my cast iron dutchoven on top my stove and let it simmer for 5 1/2 hours. The longer it simmers, the better it gets! I can only imagine how GREAT it is going to taste when we have it again tonight as left overs. I used a whole head of garlic as we LOVE garlic and so do the neighbors! Took it over there and it was a HUGH hit:) The neighbors even wanted the recipe and took part of the left overs for themselves. DON"T PASS MAKING THIS ONE UP, IT"S A KEEPER!!!!! I'd give it 10 Stars if I could!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
So good! This has been added to my recipe book. Did not change a thing! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESTWINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
The only thing that prevented this from getting "5 stars" was the cayenne....I like spice, but not in spaghetti sauce. We've made it several times now without the cayenne & love it like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Very flavorful and rich sauce! I eliminated the olive oil entirely and sauteed the garlic and onion with the meat after I drained the meat. The longer it simmers, the better the flavor. Used as a spaghetti sauce and made a lasagna with remaining sauce. Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULINAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Really good bolognese. I scaled the recipe down to 6 servings, and still have tons! Next time will decrease the Oil and cayenne, other than that was really good. Will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
A bit spicy - I will add less Cheyenne next time and maybe a little more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I made this for our weekly church potluck and everyone said it was delicious. I wasn't sure about draining the meat or not, so I didn't and it wasn't oily like I feared it might be. All I changed was not adding the cayenne pepper (I didn't have any). I will do it with next time though. Great recipe...Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
This recipe was good but a little too thick for me. The taste was pretty good but I will have to play around with it to get it more to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States