Very Special Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Excellent! My husband loves this recipe. I used canned tomatoes instead of fresh, and used brown sugar instead of white. I will no longer buy spaghetti sauce. This is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I LOVE this recipe. It is the best sauce I have ever tasted. I usually make a double batch so I can freeze some. It thaws out great and the taste isn't comprimisedat all. I usually throw in a little extra wine and tomato sauce just to give it a little extra juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This sauce was okay. I only used one onion and 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper. I used very lean ground chuck and there was no need to drain it. I used fresh basil instead of dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Turned out wonderfully! I added an extra can of diced tomatoes and sprinkled garlic here and there....it came out perfect! Great spaghetti sauce for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkins, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This recipe is very good. Especially since this was our first attempt at sauce. Wine gives it an original flavor. The meat definately needs to be drained!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Dork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This sauce is pretty tasty. I omitted olive oil, flour, and half the meat. I used ground round and sausage. I also slow cooked in crock pot for 4 hours. This is one of the better spaghetti sauce recipes I've tried, but it's still not "the one".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
A new addition to my recipe box. This is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I found I needed to make a few modifications to this recipe to get the result I was after. With the changes it was very good. Here's what I did differently. I used 1/2 lb. ground beef and 1/2 lb. ground italian sausage. I cooked this first then removed it from the pan, draining ALL the grease. Then I cooked the onion and garlic (omitted bell pepper) in just a little olive oil, added back the meat and added flour. We don't like a chunky sauce so I used a 29 oz. can plus a 15 oz. can of tomato sauce and omitted the chopped tomatoes. I added spices and wine as written but substituted fresh ground black pepper for the cayenne. I found that after simmering for a couple of hours it was just too thick for our taste so I added about 1 cup of water to get a nice consistency. Be sure to stir often or sauce on the bottom will char and it could ruin the whole pot of sauce. Thinning the sauce out a bit helps avoid this also. I recommend omitting the regular salt altogether or at least wait till the very end and only add as much as needed. Also, taste at the end and if too acid add a bit more sugar and 1 or 2 Tbsp. butter. Both of these things help cut the acid. I used half for spaghetti and froze the rest to use another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
I've been looking for a great spaghetti sauce recipe for years and this is it! Like others, I drained the ground beef and I didn't use quite as much olive oil. I also had to use canned tomatoes. But the seasoning was perfectly garlicly and spicy. thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
I wasn't that impressed. First of all, you MUST drain the grease! I had wondered if I should, but decided to follow the recipe exactly. It was greasy as can be!!! I had a whole layer of grease on top, thank goodness I wasn't cooking for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States