Very Special Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I found I needed to make a few modifications to this recipe to get the result I was after. With the changes it was very good. Here's what I did differently. I used 1/2 lb. ground beef and 1/2 lb. ground italian sausage. I cooked this first then removed it from the pan, draining ALL the grease. Then I cooked the onion and garlic (omitted bell pepper) in just a little olive oil, added back the meat and added flour. We don't like a chunky sauce so I used a 29 oz. can plus a 15 oz. can of tomato sauce and omitted the chopped tomatoes. I added spices and wine as written but substituted fresh ground black pepper for the cayenne. I found that after simmering for a couple of hours it was just too thick for our taste so I added about 1 cup of water to get a nice consistency. Be sure to stir often or sauce on the bottom will char and it could ruin the whole pot of sauce. Thinning the sauce out a bit helps avoid this also. I recommend omitting the regular salt altogether or at least wait till the very end and only add as much as needed. Also, taste at the end and if too acid add a bit more sugar and 1 or 2 Tbsp. butter. Both of these things help cut the acid. I used half for spaghetti and froze the rest to use another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
This is the first time I've ever made homemade spaghetti sauce and this recipe is definitely a keeper. I made it for a church gathering and within minutes, not only was it gone, but people were asking me for the recipe. I tweaked the recipe based other other reviewers' recommendations: I used only 2 T of olive oil, 1 onion, a 29 oz can of tomato sauce, only 1/2 t. of cayenne and it was perfect for my taste. I also drained the fat before I added the flour. It took 3 hours to simmer and a little chopping, but other than that, it was simple and well-worth the extra wait. "Arriverderci!" to Ragu and Prego.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Oh my goodness, I used to have this recipe years ago and lost it. How awesome to find it here. I could never remember the ingredients. It's a wonderful recipe. I always added bacon into my sauce. It added a nice flavor. The worchestershire sauce gives this recipe a fantastic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I have tried several times to make my own sauce....never liked any of them. I don't like sauces that are too tangy or too sweet...this one was soooooo perfect. I didn't change anything as I like to try recipes the way they are the first time and tweak them later. However, this recipe, in my opinion, needs no tweaking. Also, I have tried several recipes from this website but this was the first one I felt deserved reviewed! Thank you Shelley for a great red sauce recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Excellent! My husband loves this recipe. I used canned tomatoes instead of fresh, and used brown sugar instead of white. I will no longer buy spaghetti sauce. This is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
This was a good sauce. I put it in the slowcooker for 4 hours on low and even my picky eater wolfed it back without any complaint. Next time I will use another red wine tho. I tasted the wine after I made the sauce and found that I really didn't like it. I will have to find a red wine that I like and try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairns, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
The only thing that prevented this from getting "5 stars" was the cayenne....I like spice, but not in spaghetti sauce. We've made it several times now without the cayenne & love it like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I did a 6 person serving and it was still enough for an army. This was pretty good. I cut the wine down to 6 TBS for a 6 person serving because in my XP too much wine is not a good thing. I also only used 1/8 tsp of cayenne. Children do not like cayenne. The worcestershire was a pretty good add-in. I also would recommend making it with Roma tomatoes over any other tomatoes unless you have fresh garden tomatoes. The recipe didn't specify a certain type. Overall, I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Very good! I didn't add the celery salt or salt since the tomato products I used had so much sodium content already and my hubby is on meds for high blood pressure. I didn't use the olive oil either since the meat was rather fat. I drained the fat off after browning the meat and prior to adding the other ingredients. My family enjoyed this. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This sauce was too spicey and greasy. My kids wouldn't eat it. It does have potential...maybe decrease the oil...omit the cayanne....????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a Paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States