Very Special Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
This recipe was good but a little too thick for me. The taste was pretty good but I will have to play around with it to get it more to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Excellent recipe!! I added extra onions and peppers and used 2 cans of diced tomatoes with garlic and onion instead of fresh tomatoes. The flavor was excellent and I ended up with a huge amount of sauce--at least 3 meals worth for my family of 6--so I froze half. This is a definite keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
This was my first time ever making spaghetti sauce from scratch. This was easy and very delicious. I made extra to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
AMAZING!!! As a single father of 3, this recipe could not FAIL!! loved it!! don't change a thing!! Look forward to doing you again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I did a 6 person serving and it was still enough for an army. This was pretty good. I cut the wine down to 6 TBS for a 6 person serving because in my XP too much wine is not a good thing. I also only used 1/8 tsp of cayenne. Children do not like cayenne. The worcestershire was a pretty good add-in. I also would recommend making it with Roma tomatoes over any other tomatoes unless you have fresh garden tomatoes. The recipe didn't specify a certain type. Overall, I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
This is the first time I've ever made homemade spaghetti sauce and this recipe is definitely a keeper. I made it for a church gathering and within minutes, not only was it gone, but people were asking me for the recipe. I tweaked the recipe based other other reviewers' recommendations: I used only 2 T of olive oil, 1 onion, a 29 oz can of tomato sauce, only 1/2 t. of cayenne and it was perfect for my taste. I also drained the fat before I added the flour. It took 3 hours to simmer and a little chopping, but other than that, it was simple and well-worth the extra wait. "Arriverderci!" to Ragu and Prego.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
This was a good sauce. I put it in the slowcooker for 4 hours on low and even my picky eater wolfed it back without any complaint. Next time I will use another red wine tho. I tasted the wine after I made the sauce and found that I really didn't like it. I will have to find a red wine that I like and try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deedle Gee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairns, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This is our standard red sauce now. Our kids, as well as us, love this easy to do recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Read

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I have tried several times to make my own sauce....never liked any of them. I don't like sauces that are too tangy or too sweet...this one was soooooo perfect. I didn't change anything as I like to try recipes the way they are the first time and tweak them later. However, this recipe, in my opinion, needs no tweaking. Also, I have tried several recipes from this website but this was the first one I felt deserved reviewed! Thank you Shelley for a great red sauce recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Very good! I didn't add the celery salt or salt since the tomato products I used had so much sodium content already and my hubby is on meds for high blood pressure. I didn't use the olive oil either since the meat was rather fat. I drained the fat off after browning the meat and prior to adding the other ingredients. My family enjoyed this. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States