Very Special Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Not very good. It's way too sweet and the taste of wine is overwhelming. I use wine a lot in my recipes but not that MUCH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This is absolutely the best spaghetti sauce ever....even my picky hubby loves it!! Oh, and I didn't change a thing either!! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
The best recipe I've found so far! I added 4 finely shredded carrots and changed the meat to half pork and half beef (What I had on hand). Like another reviewer, I also don't like tomato chunks in my sauce. I chose to use 29 ounces of crushed tomatoes instead of just adding more tomato sauce. It has more body. I used brown sugar as recommended by a different reviewer. I would reduce the amount of sugar by half next time because the carrots really added a lot of sweetness. I had no problems with an overly wine-y flavor. Maybe the secret is to add the wine first and separately, to give the alcohol a chance to evaporate before adding the other liquids. I simmered for the minimum amount of time and the flavors were well blended and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pulaski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I gave it a 5, even though it was too spicy for us. Next time I will leave out the cayanne pepper all together(only used a little) and it will be perfect. I used ground beef, and cooked w/the garlic, onions and olive oil, drained the fat, added the flour, and put everything in a crock pot. Very easy and smelled soooo wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
OMG! This is so wonderful. My mom made it for me when she came to see me while I was pregnant and I couldn't get enough! Don't be tempted to leave the red wine out, it makes it! Also- Mom used her homegrown tomatoes which gave it an awesome flavor, but I have made it without and it is still good. This is perfect because it makes a large amount and leftovers are really good on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELLALU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuero, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Maybe I shouldn't rate this because I didn't use all the ingredients. I used what I had on hand for half a batch. Basically, I used 1/2 pound turkey, left out the oil and flour, added 1/4 teaspoon baking soda and subbed Italian seasoning for the spices. I wanted to review it anyway because I doubt my substitutions made a huge difference (except maybe the flour and oil part) and this was THE BEST spaghetti sauce I've ever made! The wine and lots of garlic give it an exceptional flavor and the sauce was thick and wonderful after simmering for 3 hours. I didn't have mushrooms but love them, so next time they will be included. Can't wait to try this recipe in lasagna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Great basic, needed more garlic for my personal taste, so I added quite a bit of garlic powder. Leftovers were fantastic!! Will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
When the sauce was newly made I didn't like the strong wine flavor. However, after 3 months in the freezer the flavors melded together just beautifully. This is a wonderful spaghetti sauce. I'll just plan to make it well in advance of using it. The flour turns the sauce into a beautful rich looking suace intead of a a brothy looking sauce. This is truly a very special spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This recipe is simply fabulous. My guy and kid raved about it and now I can't serve anything but this! I occasionally omit some of the spices when I don't have them on hand, or substitute white wine for red. It always comes out amazing. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I would give this recipe a -10 if I could. I followed the recipe except I drained the fat before I added the flour. I bought my favorite bottle of dry red wine. I could not even doctor it up so that I could keep it. I have made lots of homade spagetti sauces and this was by far the worst. Maybe leaving out the wine would have helped - not sure..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States