Very Special Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Best red sauce recipe ever! You could eat it alone, it's that good. It is spicey, so cut way back on the cayenne pepper if you are sensitive as it does over-power the dish. Husband and kids loved it. I used just a plain old cooking wine, but will use a nice red wine when I get the chance to find one. If you omit the ground beef, it's a great base sauce for chili, spagetti, lasagna, etc... Definitely will make more again and freeze for later. I added fresh herbs and they tasted awesome. Used finely chopped canned tomatoes with peppers because I'm lazy and don't like big chunky tomatoes. Came out really nicely and tasted even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I can finally say I don't have to buy store bought jarred tomato sauce any longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONKEYJADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Not so great. Waaay too much wine taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Choose a wine you like, since it cooks down for hours. This is what I did: I cooked my meat, onions and bell pepper together let it drain in a strainer. Then, I put a lil' oil in the pan and browned my garlic while the meat was still in the strainer. Then I added my wine to the garlic and let the alcohol cook off; then added the meat to the wine followed by the rest of the ingredients. I don't think you really need the flour. I also used one large can of stewed tomatoes instead. When I use the jar sauce I ALWAYS add onion, garlic and bell pepper so this tasted similar to the jar. I don't know if I will go through this much trouble again--although it was an easy recipe, the jar's just easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALICIAKAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Very good recipe, a nice change from my usual spaghetti sauce. I only used about 3 tbsp of olive oil to cook the veggies - 3/4 of a cup would be way too fattening! Like all spaghetti sauces I make, instead of simmering on the stove top, I let it simmer in the oven, partially covered at 325F. Less messy and I don't have to check it every 5 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This sauce was too spicey and greasy. My kids wouldn't eat it. It does have potential...maybe decrease the oil...omit the cayanne....????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Instead of browning the meat, I made everything and added meatballs and simmered those with the sauce for 2 hours. Fabulous! Sauce added flavor to the meatballs and meatballs still flavored the sauce. I also left out mushrooms because I had none on hand, but it was great and I have no doubts about how great this recipe would be in the as-printed proportions. I was surprised at how much kick the cayenne gave, but I love spicy food. Granted, it wasn't super-hot, but definitely noticeable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ryan, Iowa, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
we love this recipe and i usually cook with the wine, it does add a special flavor. for those who dont like the wine, you can substitute 2 TBS of balsamic vinegar for each half cup of wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Evanston, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Not very good. It's way too sweet and the taste of wine is overwhelming. I use wine a lot in my recipes but not that MUCH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States