Very Special Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Really a great recipe! I make a big pot of this and freeze two ladle fulls in each ziploc freezer bag (Makes like 14 bags!) Then for a quick meal for my husband and myself I reheat the sauce, cook the pasta, and dinners served in 15 mins! This recipe really helped us out when my son was born : ) Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
My family loves this recipe and my sister even said its the best spaghetti shes ever tasted.I didnt follow the recipe to a tee though mostly cause i ran out of a few stuff and didnt feel like running to the store. and it still came out great. i used 3 table of olive oil instead of 2, didnt use wine or the large tomatoes.the recipe came together as quite dry so i added 2 cups of water.be careful on the tomato sauce you choose, as some sauces tend to be qute sweet, whihc was what happened in my case.if you buy a sweet tasting sauce, go easy on the sugar (maybe just 1 tablesp).despite mine being a bit sweet, it turned out great for a novice cooker like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This sauce was the first me and my fiance had ever tried and we did tweak it a little bit we only used a quarter of a bell pepper and used canned tomatoes and a wine called burgandy only because we couldnt find the one it called for and we also threw some asiago cheese on top.this was great thanks for sharing this recipe, also we only let it simmer for about 45 mins it kept trying to thicken up and i like sauceier sauce next time we'll try siimering it the whole time!! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
this wasn't great. too much wine made it sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Moosehead
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
i thought it was ok. i wasnt able to simmer the sauce for 3 hours so after about an hour of simmering, the beef still didn't have much flavor in it. i followed the recipe to the T but had to add garlic salt for taste. i thought this recipe was ok. by adding the 2/3 cup of tomate sauce defeats the purpose of trying to make it "homemade".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moosehead

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I loved this recipe. My family loves chunky spaghetti sauce. I did half chuck and half Italian sausage. I left out the cayenne because of the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This is a great base sauce, but I did make some changes. I used 1 lb. turkey sausage and 1 1/2 lb. lean ground sirloin. Used 1-28 oz. can crushed tomatoes and 3 cans diced tomatoes (pureed in blender). I always add creamy tomato soup to my sauce, and did so with this one (It makes the sauce complete - used 1 microwavable bowl). Used only 1 small 8 oz. bottle of cabernet and omitted cayenne. Hard to mess up a good base. Added Italian seasoning. It was perfect!! Will use the rest for the "Baked Ziti III recipe", with ricotta, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tennismom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I wanted to tackle the task of making homemade spaghetti sauce so I've been searching for the perfect sauce recipe and I think I've found it in this one (with a few changes). Here's what I did - decreased olive oil to 3 T, omitted green pepper (don't like), sub'd beef broth for red wine, sub'd 2 cans Italian diced tomatoes (undrained) for fresh, use 1/8 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes for cayenne (we don't like spicy food), and decreased mushrooms by half. I also sometimes omit the ground beef and add 2 pkgs. (12 oz) of frozen meatballs. Then, after sauteing the meat (if using), garlic, and onions I cook the rest of the time in the slow cooker on high for 3 hours and add the mushrooms for 15 minutes before serving. Turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was really very good and thick spaghetti sauce. However, ours had a bit of a bitter taste. Not sure if the wine I used was old or not the right type (can't remember what it was called. Red and dry. Leftover from a dinner). I think that is what we were tasting. Anyway, I'll definitely make this again b/c even with the bit of bitter taste, it was still very good. I'll just omit the wine or use another type. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This was a good sauce. I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes instead of fresh. Next time I will only use one can of tomato paste. I think 2 cans leaves too much tomato flavor. I didn't cook the meat with the sauce. I added browned homemade meatballs in the last 30 minutes of cooking. This recipe makes a lot of sauce. I froze 2 big portions and plan to have meatball subs with the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULES2JEWELS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States