Very Simple Spelt Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
As far as spelt bread recipes go, this is by far the best I've tried. It is also very forgiving and easy to experiment with. I have tried this recipes with flax, sesame and sunflower seeds (in various combinations) and it has turned out well every time. Much like other reviewers, I add honey (about 1/8 cup) and 1 tsp of xantan gum when I have it. Another to die for combination my family enjoys is cinnamon raisin. 3/4 cups raisins (soaked in water for 15 minutes and drained) and cinnamon to taste (approx 2tsp for me)... when toasted with butter is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
352 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This recipe IS truly simple & very user friendly. I dont normally bake bread, but due to my sons wheat allergy, I thought I'd try this spelt recipe. Now...not being totally equiped with all ingredients, I used alot of substitutes. ie: had no sesame seeds, so I used half poppy seeds and half crushed blanched almonds; had no molasses, so used part brown sugar and part maple syrup to make up the tbsp; had no cows milk so used a rice milk. Oh and I added a touch more b/soda. All I can say is this was one fantastic loaf of bread! It rose up beautifully and was soooo yummy. So I guess I played around with this recipe due to lack of exact ingredients, but must say I had alot of fun making the bread. Thanks so much Jean for sharing this great bread recipe! YYYYUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
This bread lives up to its name! Very easy to make, and quite tasty! I omitted the sesame seeds and used honey instead of molasses. Good stuff. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I wondered when I read everyone else's comments why they would all be reviewing it but with substitutions. But I'm glad they did. I can't use milk or sugar, so I substituted maple syrup and rice milk and the recipe still turned out great! Thanks, as I have given up wheat, dairy, sugar as well as other things and it is great to be able to have bread again! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I have been experimenting with spelt bread recipes for a while now, and this was my best result to date, rising higher (about double) and coming out less fragile than any of my attempts with yeast. It was a heck of a lot faster and easier, too. I used ½ regular spelt and ½ whole spelt, and was generous with the honey (instead of molasses). Next time, I will either add even more honey, or use 3 parts regular to 1 part whole, since this loaf tasted so nutty it was almost woodsy. But this is the recipe I plan to use as a base in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Wow, this was super-easy to make and very flavorful. I used an 8 grain cereal instead of the seeds and added about 1/8 cup honey along with the molassas. Also some golden raisins. Probably can make this bread a variety of ways. Might try mashing 1/2 banana in the dough next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Very good and easy bread to make. I substituted honey and almond milk. It came out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I lost the paddle to the inside of my bread making pan, so I am back to the old fashioned way...so I needed a quick recipe, NOW! This one is great! I substituted a mix of quinoa, flax and sunflower seeds for the sesame seed and 1/4 cup of honey instead of the molasses. I also used whole spelt flour since I have to grind my grains just before I use it. Very nutty! To remedy the fall apart nature of spelt bread, I always add about 1 tsp. xanthan gum or guar gum powder during the mixing. Delicious recipe and no yeast!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermilion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I love this...I made it once with sesame seed and once with flax seed and I prefer the flax seed. I also used a mini loaf pan and baked them for 30 minutes. Just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
This is really good bread with just butter or jam. It didn't rise very much but didn't turn out too dense. It was just right! I made the recipe with no modifications except halving it, which worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States