Very Simple Spelt Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
This bread lives up to its name! Very easy to make, and quite tasty! I omitted the sesame seeds and used honey instead of molasses. Good stuff. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
This is really good bread with just butter or jam. It didn't rise very much but didn't turn out too dense. It was just right! I made the recipe with no modifications except halving it, which worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I love this...I made it once with sesame seed and once with flax seed and I prefer the flax seed. I also used a mini loaf pan and baked them for 30 minutes. Just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
What a unique recipe! It was so easy to make and very tasty an healthy. Will be sure to use this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
excellent. the spelt flour gives it a nutty dense flavor. i used flax seeds instead and added a tbsp of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I have been experimenting with spelt bread recipes for a while now, and this was my best result to date, rising higher (about double) and coming out less fragile than any of my attempts with yeast. It was a heck of a lot faster and easier, too. I used ½ regular spelt and ½ whole spelt, and was generous with the honey (instead of molasses). Next time, I will either add even more honey, or use 3 parts regular to 1 part whole, since this loaf tasted so nutty it was almost woodsy. But this is the recipe I plan to use as a base in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
Extremely easy recipe. As I am lactose intolerant I used soy milk with good results. Recipe is very adaptable for adding ingredients. I added 2/3 cup dry cranberries and 2/3 cup Hershey's Special Dark chocolate chips for a delicious "breakfast" bread. Still experiementing with cinnamon and sugar additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajherda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Finding a bread recipe without yeast is very difficult. This recipe was GREAT, and so easy to make. I didn't add any sesame seeds because I didn't have any on hand, and I substituted maple syrup instead of molasses and cut the portion in half since sugar is a big no no. I found that the portion of salt wasn't enough, but didn't taste it before I cooked but I'll know better next time. The only problem I had was that I guess I didn't grease my pan enough because I had a really hard time getting it out. I was astonished at how high the cake was - without the yeast! It will make a great breakfast bread!!! I am going to recommend it to everyone I know who suffers from Candida.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zumikon, Zurich, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
This is wonderful! I made a half recipe and divided it between two mini-loaf tins. I kept them covered with identical mini-loaf tins for the first 25 minutes and then uncovered for the next 35 minutes. I perfect alternative to wheat bread; next time I'll try it with dried cranberries or some of the other add-ins that I've seen suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This is great. Since I don't like sesame seeds, I subbed 1/4 cup of wheat germ. It was super.. looking forward to more experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States