Very Simple Spelt Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I love this bread! Very dense and easy to make. I've made it several times now and it turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Thank you so much for sharing this delicious, simple recipe. I've used the whole (unbleached) spelt flour. It freezes well, toasts well and it doesn't make my husband sneeze. I have added unsweetened coconut, extra molasses, and agave nectar and it has come out perfectly every time. One tip - stir until you're sure it's well mixed, then stir some more or it may come out of the oven looking like it has escaped from the tar pits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This recipe is indeed very simple. It's quite quick to make and it turned out great. I added half a banana and used soya milk instead of regular milk, and was pleasantly surprised with the results. I recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This recipe is GREAT! I'm a single mom, and while I love baking bread, I've not had the time to try a yeast-raised wheatless bread. It has a texture similar to the whole wheat soda bread I used to make, and I think I'll try buttermilk in the next loaves. I used sunflower and flax seeds, and maple syrup. This is a real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Great recipe! I used the molasses and added 1/2 cup of raisins instead of the sesame seeds. Be sure to watch this carefully while it's baking; if it bakes for too long, it will develop a thin, very hard crust which makes it hard to slice, even with an electric knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jills

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Even after reading the good reviews I was surprised at how easy this was. Mix everything together and stick it in the oven. It turned out good, if a little bland. But it's a great base to experiment with adding different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forestville, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This was a tasty,healthy bread. I've never made anything w/spelt before and it was definitely worth trying. Tasted quite 'sesame-y'. Baked beautifully and nice to have a bread without needing yeast. The extra tin on top DID develop a nice crust. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I've been trying various yeast-free spelt bread recipes for some time and this is so far the best - primarily because it rises so well and isn't dense. I used soy milk in the recipe because of intolerance to cows milk and the results were fantastic. Definitely the recipe for me from now on! And looking forward to making a savoury, tomato-and-herb version for dipping in olive oil (my favourite starter when my friends call round for food and a chin-wag).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This was suprisingly good, especially with so few ingredients! I didn't have sesame seeds, which would have been nice but to give it a nutty flavor I had almond milk (strange but true) which I used instead of the milk gave it a good nutrition profile and the nutty flavor it's supposed to have. I didn't have molasses so I used honey, everything still came out great and it looks pretty. Just don't overbake it. ALSO people, freeze this for later use because spelt goes SOUR after a couple days and it will taste terrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Great for a spelt bread! I baked it in my solar oven and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States