Very Simple Spelt Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
What a great recipe! I've tried several wheat-alternative breads and they've all fallen short of the mark. This bread was moist and delicious, not to mention easy! Like several other reviewers, I substituted rice milk for regular milk and it was still fabulous. This is a keeper. I've made it every week for the past three weeks, it's THAT good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by acooper415
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
YUM YUM YUM! I halved the recipe for one loaf used sunflower seeds instead of sesame seeds. Used one teaspoon blackstrap molasses and one teaspoon honey, 2 teaspoons baking soda. (that was an accident I forgot to half it..lol... but the bread came out lovely and tasty! Thanks for sharing a great healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Awesome! Nice texture, nice crispy crust. I used soy milk in place of regular ol' milk and added 1/4 cup flax and 1/4 cup sunflower seeds. You could probably cram even more seeds in this loaf and it'd still turn out nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Excellent and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is now the main bread eaten these days in my household! The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is that I feel it needs double the molasses and double the salt, plus 1/2 tsp guar gum for each cup of spelt flour. A tip: You can also use double the sesame seeds or add another kind of seed like sunflower. Even pine nuts are awesome in this bread. Thank you so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmw2005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was easy and great tasting bread. it was a bit heavy,possibly because I used buttermilk as the liquid. As good as it tasted, could have used the loaf as a door stop. I did a variation with rye flour and unbleached bread flour (below) which is fantastic. Modified -Very Simple Spelt Bread Variation with Rye Simple Spelt Bread Variations ( one loaf) Variation #1 w/rye flour 2 cups spelt flour 1 cup rye flour 1 cup unbleached bread flour 1 teaspoon baking powder 2 teaspoon salt 2 1/4 cups skim 1 table spoon molasses 3 table spoon honey ** increase honey and molasses by a table spoon each for sweeter bread DIRECTIONS Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease 9x5 inch loaf pan. In a large bowl, mix together all dry ingredients until well blended. Place liquids ingredients in a jar or container, mix well, microwave for one minute. Create a well in dry ingredients and half liquid, mix while adding remainder of liquid. Fold the mixture over and over several times. Place mixture in a Pam sprayed loaf pan. Sprinkle top with sesame , sunflower, or seeds of your choice. Bake for 1 hour and 10 minutes in the preheated oven, or until golden. Placing foil loosely over the top of the loaf while cooking and removing the last half hour of baking enhances the crust. Finally, the last ten minutes I brush loaf top olive oil and place back in for the final ten minutes baking. Sometimes mix garlic powder with olive oil. Everything can be mixed in 4 to 5 minutes ea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
So simple! Nice texture! I had to throw these in a pie pan, because I've only been making free-form breads and recently got rid of the bread pans...ha,ha...I guess that joke was on me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I read the reviews on this page and they convinced me to try this bread. I'm very glad I did, and I make it all the time now. I'm just eating a piece warm out of the oven as I write. This time I simply mixed a combination of whole grain and regular flour with some baking powder, a couple of handfuls of ground flax seed, honey, salt and soy milk. Rolled it in sesame seeds and it's fabulous and so healthy. A real joy to discover this, as I love love love bread, but have been avoiding wheat for years now...wonderful alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. Spelt is tricky, and this is the first recipe I've found that makes it perfect to taste. This has become the start of a life long practice for me due to my MANY allergies. So grateful for this! I have my second loaf with cinnamon and sugar in the oven as we speak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I love this bread! Very dense and easy to make. I've made it several times now and it turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States