Very Simple Spelt Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
My first time making spelt bread. It was more like banana bread consistancy. Next time I'll add more baking soda. It taste really good if you cut thinly and toast with a bit of jam. This is what I eat every morning.,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
bread was to heavy and dense, sorry didn't work out for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This is so good! Did not change anything. Nothing needed changing! I always put something on the top after baking is done, but somehow melted butter didn't seem the right thing to put on top. After reading the reviews, I mixed some butter and honey both at room temp, and put on top. Then sliced while still warm and put more butter/honey mix on the slice. MMMMM I love how quick, tasty and simple this is. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This bread was simple and quick to make. I cut the recipie in half as it was the first time I have used spelt flour and was not sure how it would turn out. I took the advice from other reviewers and used honey in place of the molasas. I also added a tsp of baking powder, some ground flax and a handful of poppy seeds. Although the bread remained very dense, it rose up nicely and the taste is fantastic! Thanks for a great recipe. I will be making this again and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I followed the recipe exact. It was a little crumbly on the edges, still it made a good sized loaf and it was tastey. I would like to try different seeds next time for varieties sake. A very good recipe, my whole family liked it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This is a great recipe for spelt bread! I love that it's so simple and yeast free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
My first time using spelt flour. I made this in the bread machine - halved the recipe, used whole grain spelt flour and added 2 tsp. of yeast. It is great toasted!!!! Very much like an English muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was my first time making Spelt Bread. I was not sure how it would turn out, but it was really good. Everyone loved it. The bread was moist and thick. I used Agave Nectar instead of Molasses. Had a very nice flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
My new staple! I'd been searching for a healthy grain bread recipe -- and this is it! Bonus points for it being EASY! Halved this recipe. Replaced sesame seeds with sunflower and added about 1/4 c. flaxseed meal. Used 1 1/4 tsp. baking soda. My non-stick loaf pan was rusty, so I reached for my small cast iron dutch oven. Covered with lid slightly askew. About 50 min in my oven and it turned out deep golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This is the best bread ever, wholesome and healthy. I was born in Germany, this is what I ate there. Instead of salting it more, I put European salty butter on the bread...yummy Living in the desert, I cut baking time down 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States