Very Simple Spelt Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is the ONLY bread I use at my home, period. It is a phenomenal success with everyone in the family! I do have some changes. I use COCONUT MILK, COCONUT OIL, HONEY and one extra tsp of baking soda. Instead of the sesame seeds, I use ezekiel cereal (no wheat). For a treat, I put 1 tbsp of cinnamon and a handful of walnuts in the batter. It makes amazing toast and a gourmet sandwich. The other plus is that you can slice it incredibly thin for a sandwich with no guilt!! FABULOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This came out very nicely, and I used poppy seed because thats all I had on hand. One thing, every time I make splelt bread it comes out looking like an alien is trying to escape from the pan, I don't know why that is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bread maker baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Talk about easy. My diet has been so restricted and I have been paying a fortune for Spelt Bread at the health food store...thought I would give it a try. Very nice. Used soy milk & sunflower seeds & agave. Needs a little more salt though. Going to have a baking party with a friend and we are each going to make a loaf. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is an easy bread to put together and very tastey. I used coconut milk (vanilla flavored) in the recipe and it came out fantastic. This is a bread I will continue to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I tried this because of all the great reviews and because it was so much easier than the normal bread I make. I followed the recipe exactly. I thought it had a terrible baking soda flavor, I could barely choke down one piece. Definitely not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shwillia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Very good. Substituted flax seed for sesame seeds and almond milk for regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This is my first time baking bread...ever. I halved the recipe & this yielded one pan loaf. This recipe was so, so easy, prep time was approx 5 mins., bread was moist & superlicious!!!! I substituted the molasses with honey & used almond milk, instead of Full cream milk. Made this an hour ago & its almost done. My family couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
A bit heavy...like the density of a quick bread, but hearty and good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
The first time I made it, I only had enough spelt flour to make half the recipe using 2 9x4.5 pans. It came out perfect. A little low, but still tasted good. The next time I decided to full recipe. What a disaster. I filled the 2 pans and placed them in the oven. I had them in for over 1 hour and 30 minutes, because the toothpick never came out clean. I finally said, that's it, out they come. I sliced one once it was cooled an guess what? It was still raw. It never cooked. It grew nice and high and split at the top and looked nice and brown, yet inside it was not cooked. The half recipe worked fine. I used Almond Milk and Guave instead of milk and molasses. My husband loves this bread because he can't eat regular wheat bread. He hadn't had a sandwich for over a year and a half until I made this bread. That is why I give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I have tried another recipe for bread w/spelt and it was much easier, this was too dense and had no flavor what so ever..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States