Very Simple Spelt Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ChrissyintheKitchen
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Added 2 tablespoons of honey, 2 tablespoons of lecithin, used vanilla Almond Milk, 1/2 cup flax seeds. I blended the, molasses, honey, lecithin in a small amount of milk in my Blendtec blender, so it was really blended well before I added it to the spelt flour. I used 5 cups of spelt flour and 3 cups of sprouted spelt flour. SO EASY and DELICIOUS, A+ to the author!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrissyintheKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Very quick and easy to make, I also varied the recipe, by adding eg. either hemp, buckwheat flour and linseed to the spelt just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I half the recipe and put another loaf pan on top as another all recipe user suggested and it turns out perfect every time! This is a weekly recipe in our house now! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnoliakng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Iris
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Wow - I am quite impressed with how good this turned out. This is a great & easy low gluten bread. It rose well & has a dense, but not too heavy texture. I used all purpose spelt & added a tbsp of honey to the molasses. I also added a tsp of baking powder as other reviewers mentioned. I used ground flax instead of sesame seeds because I like flax. I may even add a bit more honey next time. It was difficult to get the batter thoroughly mixed but worth the work. I used other pans ( sprayed with Pam) inverted over the loaves while they baked. I will definitely be using this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This bread is WONDERFUL!! very yummy right out of the oven, has a slight sweet flavor to it, I didn't change anything about it and it was delicious! It lasts for a very long time too just keep in the fridge otherwise it gets moldy but it's great for ppl like me who have severe food allergies and can't have regular bread from the store! Great alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This blew my family away. I served it out of the oven (but cooled) with salted butter as a bread with lunch of soup and salad. I think the added value was that for the gluten free fam. they had been disappointed before in alternative breads. Plus, having a homemade treat at lunch was a bonus. The changes I made are as follows: 1) I quartered the recipe for one loaf, that was pleanty 2) I used the Sprouted Spelt flour bought in the healthfood aisle at Wegmans 3) Omitted Seeds I used raisins instead 4) used Honey instead of blackstrap molasses 5) used Almond milk instead of milk 6) Baked for about 50 to 55 min. 7) I did not use a tin on the top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made it the first time last weekend and everybody in the table loved it!! It's healthy and so easy to make. But it was a little dry and hard according to the original recipe, the second time I made it, I added more milk and baked it for 1 hour instead and it turned out perfect! It's suitable for people who are allergic to wheat or yeast or eggs because it requires non of that. My favourite spelt bread so far! Thank you so much for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Pretty good bread. I made some changes based on the many recommendations. Honey instead of molasses, almond milk, xanthum gum, and cinnamon. I loved it and my baby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Fantastic recipes! Just a note, spelt flour is NOT gluten free! After reading the reviews, I noticed a comment that referred to it as gluten free. Spelt comes from the wheat family and is not safe for Celiacs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Simple, delicious and forgiving. I only made half the recipe and made some changes. I used half whole spelt flour and half white spelt flour. I had no seeds or molasses, so I just used honey. We use skim milk here. Not sure if whole milk would make a difference. Very happy with the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States