Very Popular Bubble Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This recipe works fairly well. However, I would recommend cooking your tapioca pearls for longer... 30 minutes or more. After the said 20 minutes, just watch the pearls until they are cooked to your preference. Also, when storing your pearls, coat them with honey or sugar syrup so they do not stick together. If you want flavoured bubble tea, simply add frozen juice concentrate in the flavour of your choice. Keep adding it tsp at a time until it is flavourful enough. Chocolate syrup is also quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
The general problem of US bubble tea is the pearls do not have the chewness we have in Taiwan. When I make it at home, I would cook the pearls then move the pearls into rice cooker and cook for another 15 minutes until the middle is completely cook. The pearls aren't fully cook if it still shows a little white dot in the middle. Once that's done. Run cold water through it 3 times. You'll have the most chewy pearls you'll ever taste. Definitely leave them in honey or syrup so they don't stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
Definitely cook the tapioca at least 35-40 minutes. I run a bubble tea shop in Corpus Christi, TX 7314 SPID, and we use Choobees because you don't have to cook them...much easier! No cooking required!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
You cannot use American pearl tapioca for this recipe as it will fall apart and be nothing but a bunch of starch. You must use Pearl Tapioca that is made just for Bubble Tea. I recommend cooking the tapioca for 20 minutes and removing it from the heat source. Put a lid on the pot and allow to set for another 20 to 30 minutes. Rinse with warm water, it helps get the excess starch off much easier than cold water. I use Coconut Chai tea, Almond Milk and Stevia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marengo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
As others have suggested, I cooked the tapioca for about 30 minutes. The thing was, I should have stirred more, because a layer of tapioca pearls got stuck to the bottom of the pot, and could easily have burned and ruined the taste. So stir, people!! Anyway, this works, it’s awesome for homemade bubble tea! I love the taste, I love the bubbles! Oh, one more thing! I only used like 3-4 ice cubes. That’s enough to chill the beverage to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaswa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Good attempt at it. Following the advice of the first review, these are my insights. - You will probably have to cook the tapioca longer than 20 minutes. I cooked for about ~30 minutes. Cook it until the tapioca is transparent. - I used the smaller tapioca pearls and it just wasn't the same as the larger ones. So I highly recommend using the larger ones. But if you do decide to use the smaller ones, 1/3 cup felt like overkill for me. 1/4 cup seems like a better portion. - The drink didn't seem sweet enough following the original 4 teaspoons. So you'll need to add maybe up to 6 teaspoons of white sugar, or you can add honey to add more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fong Chun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I have tried this recipe several times. I found I had to cook my tapioca for much longer. Cook it until the tapioca is clear. Also after the ice is added the tea is a bit watered down. I used less ice the second time to keep the tea a little stronger. The flavor was good but just not strong enough for my taste. I might try it again with chai tea. I am sure that would be very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Try this using spiced chai for a unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
Thanks skybabay.I had one bubble tea & I was hooked.Unfortunately where I live it's totally unavailble.However anyone can get supplies over the internet now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEYSOLA

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I was pretty excited to try this recipe but my tapioca pearls fell apart when I put them in the water, so I ended up with a pot of thick goop! Not sure what I did wrong...possibly not stirring them constantly. I also read that you should use tapioca pearls that are specifically made for bubble tea. So pay special attention to this step in the directions! I'm going to try it again soon, I'm sure it's delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States