Very Easy Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Based on other reviews, I tried to add some flavor to this basic recipe. I added 3 tablespoons of butter, two cloves of garlic and used white onion because that is all i had around. I also used chicken broth instead of water. I ended up using a mix of parmeasan and reggiano cheeses. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I wish this wasn't called risotto - it doesn't use the correct rice or technique - this is not a short cut to risotto, it's a pilaf and it's not even that great. Look up a real risotto recipe and use that instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I love this recipe...with slight modifications. My fiance loves it, though it can be a bit bland, as other reviewers have mentioned. I used quite a bit more pepper than the recipe calls for, and I also add salt. I love the cheesiness, though some may not. Quick and easy....perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
My family loves this recipe!! I make it exactly as written, except I use risotto rice instead of regular rice. I actually cook it a little longer too to make the rice more tender. It comes out very creamy and cheesy. It is a staple in our house for the past few months. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Even though I was very tempted to try out everyone's suggestions I made this as is and it's better than I expected. It's creamier than I expected too, but not as creamy as I would have liked. I will definately make this again, but try some of the alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
A quick, tasty rice dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
Good if you have a very flavorful main dish because this has a very mild flavor to it. Very easy and very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
Seemed more like rice than risotto. It was good, but not what I was expecting. Not hard to make. I'll probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I just made this with 2 tbls olive oil, arborio rice, sweet yellow onion, 2 cloves of garlic, 2 1/2 cups chicken broth, 1 teas. coarse salt, 1/2 cup sliced fresh mushrooms and 6 oz. chicken, precooked. Added pine nuts, salt and pepper to taste at the end and some white truffle oil. Texture was perfect and flavor very good. I'll make this again! I think the arborio rice is the secret to the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is not a Risotto recipe but a decent rice recipe. I use chicken broth and a little extra bouillon for extra flavor. I serve it with a flavorful Lemon Chicken. It compliments it well. ***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States