Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
So yummy! Great as is as well as zested up a bit. I like to cook it with a bay leaf or two, minced hot pepper, and at the end I garnish with cilantro and a splash on V8 juice. My boyfriend likes it plain so I just do it to my bowl. YUM Yum yyyyyyuuummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munchter_Face

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Will make again. I added a little dill to mine for something extra =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I added 1 cup of barley. not good idea, soup becomes too thick, next time will cook exactly as in recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I altered a bit: I used soup bones, peppercorns and bay leaves to make my beef broth. Mushroom and barley go better w/beef flavor...Then i used same ingredients except I pre cooked the barley. When i serve, I use a dollop of sour creme or creme fresh for each bowl...Everyone loves it...Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gypsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Yum! I followed the recipe as exactly as possible, using Pacific broth and pearl barley. I thought I might miss the beef, but I didn't at all. This is a hearty, healthy soup that would be great with a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Awesome recipe! Didn't have any onions so I used dried one's and it still came out fantastic. Cheap, easy and healthy. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackenziegrove

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly. very easy and tasty! Adding this to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Very good soup! I did have to modify to suit my pantry. I used a combo of beef broth, red wine and water for the liquid and felt it needed an extra can of broth later. Also used canned mushrooms and a handful of spinach. I imagine its even better with fresh mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I made this today. It's great! Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by AKIRSHON
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Delicious! I added some extra vegetables and used a combination of white mushrooms and chopped portobello. Even my kids couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKIRSHON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States