Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I am making my second batch of this excellent soup as I type this. Easy to make and freezes very well. While good as it stands, it certainly lends itself to additions-next time I'll add some lamb to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
i gave this a four star rating because i changed a few minor things. i used beef stock because it was what i had on hand. i also added some parsley, thyme and italian seasoning for added flavor. this came out absolutely delicious and not a drop was left! everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe. i am going to stick with the beef stock instead of chicken since we all liked it so much! next time i am going to cut up and brown sirloin steak( i stock up when albertsons runs them on sale)with the veggies for the meat lovers but i don't think it is a must add in.thanks sand1149 for a great recipe that can be tweaked to your taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by true

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Good hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
A wonderful, easy soup! It was even easier because I used quick barley. It's perfect for lunch or dinner on a cold winter day. We paired it with a grilled sanwich, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This is "souper"-delicious! I used 2 TBSP. of garlic and 16 oz. sliced baby bella mushrooms. I doubled the rest of the recipe. I did not add salt as the broth/stock is salty enough. I used pearl barley and did not have to soak it ahead of time - we like our barley to be "al dente" so 50 min. was plenty. Also - as another reviewer suggested - I toasted the barley at 350F first although I had it in the oven for about 8 min. - at 5 min. it hadn't gotten to the point where it had that toasted aroma and look yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walker23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Made this for my vegetarian grandson so used vegetable broth instead of chicken. Wonderful soup.. Think next time will follow others suggestions and use a full cup of barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I really good soup although I was expecting a bit more flavor. I used veggie stock instead of chicken and upped the barley to 1 cup. I also added two bay leaves and about a teaspoon of fresh thyme to add some depth. Hearty vegetarian meal served with bread for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This recipe is wonderful- simple and delicious. Instead of chicken broth I used mushroom soup mix dissolved in water. I never got such high praise from my husband, a huge mushroom barley soup fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Awesome & simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by galburt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Plainfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This really was easy...used orzo instead of barley. And we ate it all first day...Need to make again...it would be perfect for this winter wonderland we are in right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcadia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States