Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
especially good when I took the reviewers suggestion to toast the barley in the oven, Yum was great flavor and a little crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I work in a Children Center were I cook for about 120 children each day. Ages 1 - 5 year olds and younger too. They loved this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: University Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This made a very nice soup and we enjoyed it, but I think for just 2 people, next time I will halve the recipe since it make more than six servings in my opinion and we did get tired of it after 2 meals (it really thickens up after being refrigerated!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by extraears

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
4 out of 5 people in my family loved this recipe, including a picky husband who didn't think he liked barley! I also didn't add the mushrooms (my personal preference). My son didn't care for the (drained) can of black beans I added, but everyone else really liked it. Will definitely print this recipe and make it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I really enjoyed this. Simple but really good flavor. Easy to add your own stuff to it as well. Like one user suggested the pearled barley worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I added a couple cups of zucchini, 1/2 tsp. of dried oregano, and a couple tbsp. of fresh parsley. No-one noticed there was no meat in it.It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I made this soup according to the recipe minus the celery because I am allergic and found it to be very bland and not as thick as I like. Not sure if it was the lack of celery but very disappointing. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DornyMom
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Ours turned out great! I added a full cup of barley and definitely soaked it over night, worked like a charm! I also added cooked chicken and used the crockpot instead to slow simmer all day. In the last 30 minutes, I mixed up some dumplings, plopped them on and tilted crockpot lid! Was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Great, easy and tasty. I use shitake mushrooms and leeks instead of onions. I thin it a bit at the end with red wine. It becomes a gourmet company dish and I get raves. Thanks, Sandi149!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Great soup and so easy! I used 10 minute barley, low sodium chicken broth. I make a similar version with beef, so I know it would be good with beef broth - See "beef barley vegetable soup" on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States