Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I made this today. It's great! Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by AKIRSHON
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Delicious! I added some extra vegetables and used a combination of white mushrooms and chopped portobello. Even my kids couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKIRSHON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This soup was really easy, but needed more flavor in my opinion. I added crushed bay leaves and oregano and still felt like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Very good but I added fresh dill parsley and thyme it took the recipe to a higher level. I also blended 3/4 of my vegetables after they simmered and before I added the barley for a thick consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I made this and added about 3 cups chopped fresh spinach and 1 T Thyme. everyone thought it was fantastic. I also cut the olive oil down to about 2 Tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I made this recipe with vegetable boullion rather than chicken broth and served it with a fresh, crusty demi baguette to sop up the delicious flavors and even my boyfriend (who is very picky about food, particularly "health food") LOVED it. It was a bit time consuming having to wait for the barley to reach optimal tenderness, but well worth the wait. Filling, delicious -- best soup I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Fantastic recipe. My husband loved it and so did my 2 year old! I followed the recipe exactly and we will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I was surprised at how good this came out! Actually better than any other mushroom/barley soup I've made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This soup is very easy to make and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Just great! SO very easy - it actually lives up to its name! We like ours a bit thicker than this has come out at the end of cooking, but I plan on cooking a little longer w/the lid off (we live in CO - it's all about evaporation!) to get it to thicken a bit. Otherwise, might toss a bit in a blender and add it back in to thicken it up that way. **MAKE SURE YOU ARE USING PEARLED BARLEY OR SOAK YOURS ACCORDING TO PACKAGE DIRECTIONS if it's not - barley that is not pearled will take forever to cook otherwise (it looks like this got left out of the ingredient info).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States