Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Hints: cut any fresh veggies approx. the same size. Added per suggestion of others: QUICK cooking Barley [20 min and done]; 1/2c wine, extra spices like margaram, parsley, chicken bullion, extra jarred minced garlic.I added fresh veggies: diced carrots, green and yellow onions, green pepper, as well as diced sweet potatoes. In addition I still added the frozen veggies [corn,pea,green & lima bean mixture] asked for. Added extra chicken broth to lessen the thickness. Added also diced smoked ham. Dear husband loved it. looking forward to the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This is really good and really simple. Used vegetable bouillon instead of chicken broth, and skipped the celery. Rich flavors, good textures, and again, easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Douthett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
A star off for not including prep for the barley. That said this time I bought a package of "ten minute" barley. Love this soup. I always make sure to add in a bit of spice to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeakycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Easy & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Awsome thank you..i recently had a heart attack at the age of 33 and my whole life has changed ..I am on a low sodium diet ...Boy is it hard to make food taste good,,,but with soups like this i think i can keep going thank you so very much-Steve Turner Atlanta NY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Made this soup tonight!! Love it and it was so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I used low sodium beef broth and added 1/2 pound of stew meet cut into small pieces. Other than that, everything else was prepared the same. Easy recipe and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
What can I say, this soup is AMAZING! I followed some reviews hints. I made my own chicken stock - so easy! And along with throwing some chicken in there, I added a small can of button mushrooms, a handful of small egg noodles and some parsley for taste. It's great the first day.. but holy cow! The second day is better. This is a keeper. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerri lyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Highland Mills, New York, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Loved the soup but agreed that it needed a little tweaking. 1) I reduced the oil to 1/8 cup. 2) I used vegetable broth instead of chicken, 3) toasted the barley in the oven at 350 for 5-6 minutes. 4) added approx 1/2-1tsp dried oregano for added flavor. Delicious! Saved to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This is the first good soup I've ever made in my 57 years, so thank you for posting it! The only changes I made were I sautéed baby spinach with the onions and I slow simmered for 4 hours. My husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States