Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This was the first recipe I have tried since I became a member, and I loved it! I brought it in for some of my co-workers and they loved it too! I paired it with a fresh salad. It was perfect for a cold Kentucky night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Washington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
this soup was excellent. I like mine extra thick so I used 1 cup of barley. even better the next day. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I only used half the liquid and it wa still a very thin soup. The taste was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I doubled the recipe; otherwise, made it verbatim. Great basic soup, I liked it a lot; make it as written with confidence. I have some changes in mind and will update this later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mackinaw City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Assonet, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Good, easy soup. The mushrooms didn't hold up well to freezing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temperance, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I ACCIDENTALLY doubled everything except for the chicken broth, and it came out wonderfully. Really thick, but I just added a tiny bit of water before I microwaved it and it was so yummy. Really, really hit the spot when I was sick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Good basic soup, open to alot of adjustments, more mushrooms, more barely. I like another reviewer upped the barely to a full cup. Also, from a whole foods eating perspective barely should be soaked 6-12 hours before cooking. The provides two great benefits. One, releases more of the nutrients and two reduces the cooking time significatly. I am also experimenting with the level of salt. I think it needs more salt, but I am proceeding with caution as I do not want to overwhelm the favors already dancing around in this wonderfully simple and delicious soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This recipe is very simple. I used sliced portobella mushrooms and added a sprinkle of red pepper flakes for a little kick. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Delicious! Took another reviewer's advice and used a full cup of barley. You can always add some water when you reheat the soup if it's too thick. This would be good with some chicken added to it as well... Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Great recipe as is. I added a little extra garlic. So simple and delicious.No need for salt due to the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Natrona Heights, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States