Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT SOUP! Made just as written, except for adding in some extra garlic. I can't believe the wonderful flavors that came from this~YUM! It did take 1 hour for my barley to be fully cooked, but that was no big deal. this soup is definately going into my regular rotation! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This was so easy to make and it turned out pretty well.I made a few additions that I think really helped boost the flavor: I added extra garlic, and onions, and some red wine as I was cooking the mushrooms. Oh, I also used beef broth instead of chicken. The wine really gave the soup great depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
So yummy! Great as is as well as zested up a bit. I like to cook it with a bay leaf or two, minced hot pepper, and at the end I garnish with cilantro and a splash on V8 juice. My boyfriend likes it plain so I just do it to my bowl. YUM Yum yyyyyyuuummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munchter_Face

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Will make again. I added a little dill to mine for something extra =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I added 1 cup of barley. not good idea, soup becomes too thick, next time will cook exactly as in recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I altered a bit: I used soup bones, peppercorns and bay leaves to make my beef broth. Mushroom and barley go better w/beef flavor...Then i used same ingredients except I pre cooked the barley. When i serve, I use a dollop of sour creme or creme fresh for each bowl...Everyone loves it...Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gypsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Yum! I followed the recipe as exactly as possible, using Pacific broth and pearl barley. I thought I might miss the beef, but I didn't at all. This is a hearty, healthy soup that would be great with a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Awesome recipe! Didn't have any onions so I used dried one's and it still came out fantastic. Cheap, easy and healthy. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackenziegrove

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly. very easy and tasty! Adding this to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Very good soup! I did have to modify to suit my pantry. I used a combo of beef broth, red wine and water for the liquid and felt it needed an extra can of broth later. Also used canned mushrooms and a handful of spinach. I imagine its even better with fresh mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States