Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Yummy just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I made the recipe as stated and it was very good and easy! I may reduce the oil next time and try toasting the barley as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I made this recipe as written... wonderful! Then I made it with smoked turkey stock and added fresh thyme! I could sell this on a street corner for $$$. It had to be the best Mushroom Barley soup I have ever tasted!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Very good and healthy, especially if you use low sodium, fat free chicken broth! I added rosemary and it made a huge difference in the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBeaver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Great soup! I added 3 tbsp of porchini mushroom powder for more flavor and a full cup of farro as I did not have any barley. Delicious, warming and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Thank you for the recipe! I modified to make 8 servings instead of six and for salt added teaspoon - which oversalted. As another reviewer noted (I read it too late) there's salt in chicken broth cubes I used for stock. Also agree, with another reviewer - next time will put in more carrots and touch of chicken meat if possible. And yes, I soaked barley while chopping. It took close to 2-2.5 hrs total at leisurely pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Very good. It's filling and still very healthy. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
The recipe was easy to make and delicious. The only change I will make is to add more celery and carrots in the next batch. It also freezes and reheats really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I make this same soup, but with double the amount of garlic and 3 cups chicken and 3 cups beef broth (reduced fat/sodium). I also add 1 tsp each of dried thyme, marjoram, and parsley and 2 Tb. white cooking wine. It's still easy and much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I am tempted to make this a 5 star but I save that for way above average with changes it may be that. I halved oil I used 6 cups water and 2 Tbs. chicken better than boullion as I otherwise would always be out of stock. a lemon juice squeezed into soup and when ate I sprinkled n some salsa seasoning I did not buy enough mushrooms - my fault. Othersie I used amounts called for- Yummo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coquille, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States