Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was very easy and very filling. I used beef broth instead of the chicken and it did give the soup a heartier flavor! I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Yummy recipe, but I changed a few things. I used pearled barley, 4 cups chicken broth, 2 cups beef broth, added a can of mixed veggies (i didnt have as many mushrooms to put in), and I added 2 bay leaves to the soup. Turned out great. Hoping it will freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I have made this before with barley and it was OK, but caused some tummy problems, so tonight I made it with brown rice: no tummy problems and it was quite good. I doubled the garlic, used vegetable stock to keep it vegetarian, and added a bit of lime juice at the table. Very nice and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Very easy with nice mushroom flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This soup is DELICIOUS! It's also very low calorie, and the barley makes it ideal for those with cholesterol concerns. I used a little more garlic (always use more garlic!) and I included some shittake and cremini mushrooms along with the buttons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delhi, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Made recipe as stated, except that I reduced the amount of oil, as other reviewers suggested. Soup was fairly easy to make, but I felt that it badly needed some seasoning. Perhaps beef broth would be better to use for this recipe than chicken broth?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This was really good but the leftovers were even better! Make a day ahead, you won't be disappointed! I added a bay leaf for flavour and next time will experiment a bit more. Rosemary? Garlic?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I made it without onions and added chives instead. Came out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
YUM! This soup tastes really not that far off the turkey soup my Mum makes every year after Christmas with a whole heck of a lot less work! Freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
The amount of oil to sauté the veggies seemed high to me, so I reduced it by 75%, using only 1 tbsp which worked fine. This one small change really had to cut back on the fat grams in this soup making it much healthier. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to the letter and found the soup very flavorful. After seasoning with salt and pepper, I did add a little thyme. Nice soup and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States