Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This is really good and really simple. Used vegetable bouillon instead of chicken broth, and skipped the celery. Rich flavors, good textures, and again, easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Douthett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
A star off for not including prep for the barley. That said this time I bought a package of "ten minute" barley. Love this soup. I always make sure to add in a bit of spice to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeakycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Easy & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Awsome thank you..i recently had a heart attack at the age of 33 and my whole life has changed ..I am on a low sodium diet ...Boy is it hard to make food taste good,,,but with soups like this i think i can keep going thank you so very much-Steve Turner Atlanta NY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Made this soup tonight!! Love it and it was so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I used low sodium beef broth and added 1/2 pound of stew meet cut into small pieces. Other than that, everything else was prepared the same. Easy recipe and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
What can I say, this soup is AMAZING! I followed some reviews hints. I made my own chicken stock - so easy! And along with throwing some chicken in there, I added a small can of button mushrooms, a handful of small egg noodles and some parsley for taste. It's great the first day.. but holy cow! The second day is better. This is a keeper. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerri lyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Highland Mills, New York, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Loved the soup but agreed that it needed a little tweaking. 1) I reduced the oil to 1/8 cup. 2) I used vegetable broth instead of chicken, 3) toasted the barley in the oven at 350 for 5-6 minutes. 4) added approx 1/2-1tsp dried oregano for added flavor. Delicious! Saved to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This is the first good soup I've ever made in my 57 years, so thank you for posting it! The only changes I made were I sautéed baby spinach with the onions and I slow simmered for 4 hours. My husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I used low sodium vegetable stock and an assortment of mushrooms. The results were delicious. This soup was a great Saturday evening meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States