Very Easy Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This is very delicious. You can make it as described or you can just spread the cream cheese on a serving plate, top with crab (real or surimi imitation) and pour the cocktail sauce over and use sturdy crackers to scoop it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
I LOVE THIS!!! I made it for a party, my guests could not get enough & asked for the recipe - and at the next party, the hostess made it. It is so simple & yummy - sometimes I grate a little onion for an added kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOWSIES29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
This dip does not stay long on the table. I have also used a variation of it, mix the crab meat ( I use real meat from the can) with the cream cheese, add about a tablespoon of mayo and put in a serving dish, spread the seafood sauce on top. Very Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I've been making using this recipe for several years and its always been a HUGE hit!!! Served with Ritz crackers you cant go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYSTICMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
This came out pretty good. I agree with the previous Ritz cracker comment. I bought a craker called Sociables, and it doesn't have that buttery taste like Ritz that would go so well with this recipe. I am going to buy some Ritz tomorrow! And I think I will dice up some green onions on top to add a little more zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
As a child, this was one of my favorites. I have found a couple of ways to dress it up a tad. I used Philadelphia Light Garden Veggie cream cheese to add a bit more flavor. I threw in a tablespoon of mayo, a couple dashes of hot sauce and some Parmesan cheese (basically, whatever I had laying around) and served the cocktail sauce extremely lightly on the dip and put some more on the side. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Forget this recipe and choose one using REAL crab meat! (I tried three others) They were all better than this one using imitation! I was humiliated that I served it before trying it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
This is a great dip! Fast & easy. I make it at least a dozen times a year for various parties. Everyone always compliments it and asks for the recipe. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
My family has been making this recipe for parties and special occasions for years. One plate full never lasts long! The only thing we do differently is that we sprinkle the top of the cocktail sauce with chopped green onions and salad shrimp. Its always one reason I look forward to the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This year my (small) family decided to relax for christmas & instead of formal dinner, just put together favorite appatizers & graze all day. This dip was the STAR of the table! I cannot emphasize strongly enough how this simple, 3 ingredient dip WOWED everyone! I'd give it 6 stars if I could! I used flake-style imitation crab meat, pulled it apart just a bit & gave it a light chop for texture, low fat cream cheese, and McCormick cocktail sauce. DO USE Ritz/butter crackers, they are the perfect match. (Whole Wheat, water crackers, and flatbread crackers do not do the dip justice.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States