Very Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I just made this recipe, I actually took a shortcut with the cooling, and froze for 45 minutes, put in the cheapest 2 quart Wal-Mart special ice cream freezer for 35 minutes. My family commented that the flavor was better than the local custard (Sheridan's) store's chocolate custard. We wiped it out in less than 10 minutes. Maybe would be better if we made 4X the recipe in a good gallon sized freezer and froze it harder. EXCELLENT already have a second batch in the refrigerator for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Excellent recipe. I substituted heavy cream for nonfat raspberry yogurt and I substituted the unsweetened chocolate with some chocolate easter bunny I had lying around. It is thick and creamy. Add some frozen raspberries for an extra kick of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I love this recipe! When followed completely through, it yields a rich chocolate flavor and ultra creamy. The consistency prior to placing in the freezer is like a very thick shake. What an excellent ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Yummy - will never buy store ice cream again so easy to make. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
If you follow the directions properly you will have no problem getting this to be a fantastic dessert!!! Mine even hardened around the edges of my ice cream maker. So follow ALL directions!!!! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I added a little instant coffee (1 1/2 tsp.) to the pot while heating and it was delicious. This was the best ice cream I've ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I made this on Saturday last and it was eaten right out of the ice cream maker. I was lucky enough to save a small portion for myself. I will definitely make it again because the texture is creamy and its not overpoweringly sweet. We added pecans. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This is the best ice cream EVER! I will never use another chocolate ice cream recipe. I made this for some friends and they couldn't quit raving over it. Follow the instructions exactly and you will have a perfect, velvety smooth and rich ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I made the custard base and oh man! It is delicious!! I used dark cocoa powder and then melted milk chocolate chips in place of the chocolate...waiting for it to cool...and I'm going to whip the whipping cream before adding it. Make it fluffier..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Gagnon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
We've made several chocolate ice cream recipes and this is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States