Very Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Both in quality and texture, this is one of the best ice creams I've ever made. I had none of the issues or criticisms others experienced like graininess, flecks of chocolate, consistency, freezing time, etc. In my opinion this is a flawless recipe, and my suggestion is to use the finest chocolate your budget can afford. I used 3 ozs. of Scharffenberger chocolate (by accident!) and it was perfect, tho' die hard chocoholics might even appreciate another ounce. This had a smooth, velvety mouth feel, totally creamy, chocolatey and rich. This is every bit as good as the frozen custard Wisconsin is so famous for. The directions are well written and easy to follow. No need to change or add a thing--unless you have some unexplainable burning desire to do so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Don't be fooled by these ratings. Have been making homemade ice cream for years. This recipe will not freeze. In over an hour run time the best I can say is that it thickened. Taste is average at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Very TASTY Recipe! The only change to the ingredients was that I used half & half instead of the milk. Also after the chocolate was melted I put the pan in ice water for 2 minutes then wisked in the cream & vanilla, then refrigerated the mixture for several hours before freezing. This version is how my other ice cream recipes are made and they have all turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I agree with some others who had trouble getting this to freeze, except... I persisted and now I rate this a 5 star. On my first batch, I hurried. I didn't "temper" the eggs properly (that's where you take warm mix out, add to egg & return to the pan). And I threw in semi sweet chips that I presumed had melted sufficiently. Then I failed to chill well before putting in my machine. Worse yet, I used my Cuisinart freezer that allows a fairly thick build-up in the canister between the dasher & the edge, preventing the center from getting to the coldest area. The band-aid was to put the half-frozen mix into a shallow container in the freezer and stir every few hours until it was ice cream. Tasted good, but had "bits" (either choc chip or egg - not sure) The CURE is: follow the directions! Do not boil, properly temper the eggs, use as tiny chocolate bits as you can (shaved is best), chill completely before freezing, and use a maker whose dasher really scrapes the canister edge. (My Waring did great) If you don't hurry, you will be rewarded with a very rich, delicious ice cream. As another reviewer stated - not overly chocolate in flavor, but exceptionally rich in taste & texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Excellent! Instead of the 2 oz unsweetened chocolate, both times I have made this I have used a 3.5 oz good quality dark chocolate bar. (Lindt 85% cocoa) Probably the best chocolate ice cream I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This ICE CREAM is so good. The only problem I had with it that it was so think I had a hard time getting it to freeze and it would be something you might make and let freeze all day. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOLDENPHOENIX82

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Naples, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
We have made this ice cream 3 or 4 times. It is wonderful!! I always pour it through a sieve to make sure that I get lumps out. I have also made it with any combination of half and half and cream. Yummy. Also, I have stirred in peanut butter to make chocolate peanut butter and it is wonderful! My family gives it 2 thumbs up! Great recipe and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This was a fantastic ice cream. I did make some changes to accomadate nearly sugarless diet. I used 3/8 c agave nectar and 3/8c splenda. I accidentally added only 2 egg yolks and instead of semisweet chocolate, used giradelli unsweetened dark chocolate. I also added 2 1/2 c heavy. It was GREAT!!! Sure beats that no sugar added stuff in the market!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Prather Hanley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niwot, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
i have many ice cream recipes and i tried all.but this one is the best.nearly impossible to discover its homemade.very chocolate ice cream is very very delicious..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I made this as chocolate flan, and was it ever luscious! I used unsweetened chocolate, so it ended up being a bittersweet custard that contrasted nicely with the caramel. It was a little soft-textured, though, so next time I think I'll use one whole egg and two yolks so that the flans will hold their shape better once they're unmolded. Perfect chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancesC

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States