Very Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
We've made several chocolate ice cream recipes and this is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I've tried a variety of different ice cream recipes over the years, but this is by far my favorite. In fact, without the chocolate, the recipe is still viable with any flavoring, and I have made it with green tea (2 cups of green tea leaves and 1 tbl. of green tea tincture in 1/12 cups of milk left on a warm stove for quite some time to steep, substitute for the 1 cup milk in recipe, as it will cook down a little). Some seem to have had problems with this freezing, but I never have. I have used crushed ice, but prefer snow as a cooling agent. I have sometimes added a little more milk, some half-and-half, with an extra yolk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I made this using 4 squares (out of 8) of a 3.5 oz Lindt Excellence 70% Cocoa Smooth Dark bar. I tried grating it but it was too fine and was melting in my hands so I threw it in the food processor for a few seconds. I also used a wire whisk while heating sugar mixture on stove for better mixing. It was so yummy that I was eating it right out of the ice cream maker while it was going 'round. The texture was so creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I used an Emergency Dark Chocolate bar instead of semi-sweet, and it turned out great! Also, I didn't have an ice cream maker at my disposal, so I had to use the freezer, but I had no problems freezing the ice cream at all. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I had only Hershey's Special Dark cocoa powder, so I added some espresso powder as well. The best ice cream I've ever tasted. My family loved it too! Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pulaski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I followed the recipe and instructions and it was super runny still 20 minutes into freezing it in my ice cream maker. I have never had this problem before so now I'm trying to figure out how to fix it so a whole batch of ice cream doesn't get turned into a very expensive chocolate milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micsulli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
It does take longer to form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I will never buy store bought ice cream again! I added toasted almonds for a kick and all I can say is OMG! To Die For!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Wow, this ice cream is the best chocolate ice cream I've ever made. Will continue making it this way from now on. We also had the problem with the chunks- I think some of my eggs did curdle as hard as I tried to not let it happen. Simple solution was to use a colander and strain them out, and viola! Delicious, velvety, chocolate ice cream. Next time, I'll be doubling it because it didn't last long....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Amazing! The only change I made was to increase the cocoa to 1/3 cup because I didn't have any semisweet chocolate to melt into it. (It was really nice to be able to skip that step, too.) The flavor was fantastic and the ice cream ended up firm, smooth, creamy and rich. I've made a lot of homemade ice cream lately, but this was my first time trying a custard style. I will definitely be trying this type for other flavors and will be using this recipe a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States