Very Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is awesome! I had never made chocolate ice cream, only vanilla. This was the first recipe I tried and will be my staple from now on. The texture is so silky smooth, almost seems whipped. My daughter said "I don't even like chocolate ice cream and this is delicious!" This is true, child has never eaten chocolate ice cream in her life and is going through this like crazy. I followed the recipe exactly and had no issues. It's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
great chocolate icecream I added something special to the chocolate icecream cocoa nibs I wanted a little crunch and they are perfect in this icecream and I also added extra chocolate chips which where dark chocolate I love dark chocolate icecream it is not to sweet yet hits the sweet tooth love it great recipe give it a try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Amazing. I substituted full-fat coconut milk (Royal Blossom brand) for the milk and cream. It's a great way to have a non-milk ice cream and is JUST as creamy. It is so good! And I love that it's not too sweet. I'm going to make a 2nd batch tomorrow. This is THE chocolate ice cream for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
The custard froze to the perfect consistency and remained decadently sweet. As other reviewers have noted, you have to be precise when making the custard, and cannot rush it! Also, if you deviate from the ingredients (lower fat content for instance) your custard will not have the same consistency after freezing. This is true for any ice cream recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Wonderful, I used 3.5oz of bittersweet chocolate and strained the mixture before freezing. No problems at all. Pretty much a standard ice cream recipe. It doesn't get any better than this. Use the best ingredients and properly combine, don't over cook, 172F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I really like this ice cream. BUT Its so rich that I could only eat one scoop. WHY? Its soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I just made this today and it's fantastic! It's definitely the best homemade ice cream that I've made. In fact, we're supposed to serve it tonight for dessert with friends and my husband wants me to keep it all for us. I'm making back-up brownies to serve to our guests now. :-) I followed the directions exactly except that rather than refrigerating for 2 hours, I put in the freezer for about an hour because I was short on time. I used plain old, Nestle mini chocolate chips because that's what I had on hand and it turned out great. I can't wait to try again with better quality dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Oh my gosh! I don't even like chocolate ice cream! (really) This was SO good! I made it for a guest. I tweaked the recipe a little. My cocoa on hand wasn't unsweetened and I used semi sweet chocolate chips that I had. My guest said it was the best chocolate ice cream he's ever had. Me too! It's in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Made this yesterday and it is so good. Used Kitchenaid ice cream attachment, took just under 20 minutes. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Very tasty, but I found it waaaaay too sweet. I'll try it with less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States